As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Samba De Amigo! - Monkeys! Maracas! DLC?

mxmarksmxmarks Registered User regular
edited January 2009 in Games and Technology
This is my first attempt at an OP, and I know they generally tend to be flashy, funny and an all around source of good information - but I'm at work and can't make a couple of those things happen right now. So if this thread ends up staying the place where all Samba stuff goes, I promise to add some pictures and expand the info as it becomes available.

What is Samba De Amigo?

First, theres this:

SAMBA!

Samba de Amigo is pure fun on a disc. Way before the days of Guitar Hero, if you wanted to pretend to play instruments in your home, you only had one choice - buy a Dreamcast and plop down around $80 on some awesome maraca controllers. The maracas worked with some lenses sending a signal down to the mat you stood on. There was a bar towards the front of the mat, and the lenses on the maraca cords could tell how high and low you were holding your maracas after you input your height. It wasn't the most accurate thing in the world, but I'd say it worked almost 75% of the time, and was pretty awesome, because that maracas were actually maracas. You shook them and they made that signature maraca sound.

How do you samba?
A ring of circles appear in the screen. If you split that ring down the center, you have 3 circles per side. Balls come out of the center of the ring, and head towards a circle. Say a ball is headed for the upper right. You take your right arm, raise it up high (and youll see the circle change slightly, to indicate the maraca is high enough) and shake it as the ball hits the center. Hooray, you got some points!