As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Company Loyalty and career decisions

FozwazerusFozwazerus Registered User regular
edited October 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I have some questions regarding work that require a little back story:

I am a relatively fresh graduate with an MS in mechanical engineering. I moved to a town with absolutely no industry (tourist town) and couldn't find a job that I wanted for 6 months. There were a few interviews and one offer that I didn't accept (shitty "engineer" position in a factory 1 hour away.) I was getting desperate, so I started interviewing for anything that I had skills for: CAD positions, teaching positions (I've been a TA twice), and basically anything that required a degree. I went in for a CAD draftsman interview with a guy who owned a small engineering contracting company. When I got into the interview, he asked me why someone with my degree would move to that particular town, because there were absolutely no engineers there. He basically hired me on the spot (few more interviews after) for whatever reason (lack of other candidates or me being awesome, I don't really know/care) and I was friggin ecsatic. When we were "negotiating" pay, I gave him some numbers of what I would expect and he added 10 grand to it (I bid high because I was expecting 10k LESS). As a fresh grad, I was making 100th percentile for my graduating class. He sent me off to a job site to work for 6 months, making my salary and overtime AND per diem (money for living expenses that I get to spend as I see fit.)