As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

First time sketch dump...

Darken RahlDarken Rahl Registered User regular
edited January 2007 in Artist's Corner
I've posted in the photo threads a bit, but I never posted any attempt at DRAWING here.

I'm an architecture student, so I can draw with a ruler decently well, but buildings are easy compared to real life. Any pointers you can give based on my skill set as it stands (or falls down) would be MUCH appreciated.

These are all done with a fumi brush in Japan, it was a requirement of the studio in order to ensure we didn't get bogged down in the details, the idea was to capture the thing one was sketching quickly.

Thanks!

1_G.jpg

2_G.jpg

3_G.jpg

4_G.jpg

5_G.jpg

6_G.jpg

7_G.jpg

8_G.jpg

9_G.jpg

10_G.jpg

11_G.jpg

12_G.jpg

13_G.jpg

18_G.jpg

17_G.jpg

16_G.jpg

15_G.jpg

14_G.jpg

imtoobigfrenbook.jpg
Darken Rahl on

• Options
    ksblairksblair Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Ah a fellow architecture major, you said these were done quickly, im curious how long your spending. If these are just little 8 minute sketches I think your doing pretty well, I spent my summer of 05 sketching around Europe, and the objective was to always keep the sketches under 15 minutes, and that a 5-10 minute window was best in order to try and get you to pick out the major points and not spend too much time at one location.

Anyways, your sketches dont seem bad but they seem to be pretty.. monochrome is the best word i can think of at the moment. They seem to lack a focal point, it can help to use your darkest areas as the focal point.