As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Part-Time Law School

Evil_ReaverEvil_Reaver Registered User regular
edited November 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I graduated in 2005 with a BA in history but I haven't gone in to the field and I have no intention of doing so either. 3 years later, I work for a university that offers tuition assistance for full-time employees to the tune of 75% off educational fees (credit hours) for up to 6 hours per semester. After looking over the various graduate and professional degrees the university offers, talking it over with my wife and family, and looking at the finances, I have decided that I would like to go to law school.

The law program at the university has a part-time "flex" program that allows students who work full-time (not just at the university, but in general) to attend school part-time and extends the program from the traditional 3 years to a 5 year ordeal. Ideally I would want to attend full-time, but my wife and I can't take out another $30-40K in loans on top of the loans we already owe for her masters degree.

My questions, directed to anyone who is currently in law school or has a JD, are as follows:

1. Even though I would be a part-time student, I still have to carry a 9 credit hour course load for 10 consecutive semesters excluding any summer classes I take. I held a 25-30 hour per week job while taking a full load during my undergrad, but obviously law school is going to be much more difficult academically. I guess what I need to ask is: am I setting myself up for failure by trying to balance law school on top of a full-time job that I have to keep in order to get the tuition assistance? Would you even consider going to law school on a part-time basis?