As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

New here! Need help with character design

AMERICAN OTAKUAMERICAN OTAKU Registered User regular
edited January 2009 in Artist's Corner
Hello! My name is Alex, and I am new to this forum.

I was raised in Japan, and I'm a big fan of manga, video games, and everything geeky ;)
Currently I'm a working dentist, but my true passion is in cartooning.
I just moved to Seattle and found out about Penny Arcade (also in Seattle!!! sweet!!!)
I hope not only to be a loyal fan of PA, but also an active contributor to its community.

well, with that said... I'm currently drawing a comic strip called "American Otaku," but I'm also working on another project on the side.
Here's some concept sketches from the upcoming comic.

I'm still working on the script, but I need ideas for monsters. Any reply is greatly appreciated. Thanx in advance! ;)

tomato_luas_mummy.jpg

tomato_luas_vampire.jpg

tomato_ghostsisters.jpg

Banner-Link-468X60.jpg
www.american-otaku.com - a comical rendition of our American Geek culture!
AMERICAN OTAKU on

• FabricateFabricate __BANNED USERS regular
    edited December 2008
    You need to work on developing form, anatomy, etc.

Blanket advice but you would benefit from doing life drawing and studies to improve before you took on a project like this.

As far as the characters are concerned, the orange headed kid reminds me too much of Jack Spicer

jackspicerfp4.jpg

And the ghost thingy reminds me too much of Wuya

wuya3vv0.jpg
    (Both are from the WB show Xiaolin Showdown)

and the larger ghost thing reminds me of bleach. (e; also the green thing)

What i'm basically getting at is that they aren't very original designs.

Fabricate on
  • AMERICAN OTAKUAMERICAN OTAKU Registered User regular
    edited January 2009
    Fabricate: