As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Assimilating into the high school environment

QuarterMasterQuarterMaster Registered User regular
edited February 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
How do I do it? Or at least temporarily. I've been home schooled all my life (except for a brief stint in 1st grade) and have never been exposed to the jungle of classes and people that is high school. The reason I'm joining is because, frankly, home schooling is boring. To "spice up" my life. I'm a Sophomore this year, and will attempt to join our local Running Start program for my Junior year, but I wanted to try out H.S. for at least a little bit to see what I'm missing and whether or not it's something I would like to continue part-time. If I decide to go, I'll be starting up this Monday with a couple of classes that piqued my interest.

Naturally, I'm extremely nervous. Like I said above, the most kids I've been exposed to at one time is maybe in the low 30's. And never a large group of peers. Also, being male, getting used to having several hundred mini-skirted girls of my age walking around will take some time. I do know one person who attends my local school, but probably won't see him, so that's not much help.

Anyhoo, I'm just wondering if there is any advice out there on how to successfully adapt to the high school environment without going nuts on my first day.

tl;dr I'm officially in my Sophomore year of H.S., but have been home schooled all my life. How do I adapt to American H.S.?

Thanks a lot for any help. :|

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
QuarterMaster on

• Marblehead JohnsonMarblehead Johnson Registered User regular
    edited February 2007
    Kick someone's ass the first day, or become someone's bitch.