As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Marketing for a LAN party

MagicPrimeMagicPrime FiresideWizardRegistered User regular
edited February 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Hello everyone,

In my area I participate in a LAN party group that is hosted by a local community college. The numbers of people showing up have been very lack-luster as of the past half-dozen events. Mostly this is attributed to lack of marketing on the people that actually "run" the event.

Seeing as I work as a graphic designer and sudo-marketing I have volunteered to try to market and make some materials for the next event. Below is a list of things on my list to do - what I need is any other ideas for things to do along with any places online that are free to advertise a Lan party.

Since we are hosted by the Community College we are 100% non-profit. We charge a $15 dollar registration fee that goes to door prizes (everything from N-Vidia lunch boxes to Wireless Keyboards and even one time we had an N-vidia 8800 that the college IT department's vendor supplied to us), lunch (normally pizza from a local pizza shop) and drinks (Cola, Mt. Dew, bottled Water, etc. by way of a Sam's run). People with non-badass rigs can rent a slot on in-house PCs for an extra $10 on top of the normal registration and people like me who hate to lug around their montior can rent a monitor slot for $5 on top of the registration.

So here is the list of things I'm planning on doing:
  • Large-scale posters on the College Campus
  • Slide on the college ran Public Broadcast channel
  • Handout cards/invitations for some of the instructors to hand out
  • and a smaller poster and some invitation cards going to the local comic book store
Any ideas?

BNet • magicprime#1430 | PSN/Steam • MagicPrime | Origin • FireSideWizard