As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

new to DnD

FlamingtwigzFlamingtwigz Registered User regular
edited March 2009 in Critical Failures
Okay so I'm new to DnD and i just bought a players handbook. What other books do you need and i know you need a monster manual but i heard you can download it offline. Also do you just make up your character alone or do you do it in front of people so people don't lie or something.

Also i live in queens new york and i got to kings games on sunday if anyone want to play in the surrounding burroughs or anything.

Flamingtwigz on

• Options
    Mr_RoseMr_Rose 83 Blue Ridge Protects the Holy Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    First, you only need the DMG/MM if you are DM'ing.
    You might want to pick up the second PHB as well (four new races and eight new classes) and/or the appropriate <source> Power book(s) for your favourite classes, but you can really wait a while on that. Especially since the only one on general release right now is Martial Power, though that does cover the majority of the PHB classes.

For character generation, the standard method is now point-buy (explained in the PHB on p. 17) so you don't need to roll dice, which means anyone can check your scores later.

Also, you should check out the DnD 4e thread too.

Mr_Rose on
    ...because dragons are AWESOME! That's why.
    Nintendo Network ID: AzraelRose
    DropBox invite link - get 500MB extra free.
  • Options
    edited March 2009
    i heard there are new races and classes in the 2nd player handbook, Do i have to buy that book to make a character of the classes or races in that book?

Flamingtwigz on
  • Options
    edited March 2009