As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Age of Conan

FallingmanFallingman Registered User regular
edited September 2007 in MMO Extravaganza
Given the mention on the PA home page today, I thought it might be time for an AoC thread. I'm afraid I'm a bit new to this - and I'm sure its been in development for years, so someone should feel free to contribute an overview of some kind.

I'm quite hopeful for a serious MMO to do well on the 360, and this seems to be the one I'm most interested in.

I was a complete Conan virgin until about 2 weeks ago, when I bought the complete Chronicles book off Amazon for a little look-see. I was pleasantly surprised. Gritty and not nearly as cheesy as I was fearing - and of course, seminal fantasy for genre fans.

So, I'm hoping for a lore-rich game that does the world justice.

Who else is looking forward to this?

As a discussion point, the idea of a combat system requiring some skill - I find intriguing. I wonder how far they will take this? Will it mean that a skilled low level player could take on someone whose character had more experience? I think there is probably a balance to be met here...

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Fallingman on

• AldoAldo Hippo Hooray Registered User regular
    edited February 2007
    ...The balance being that the higher level player has more experience with the game and has equipment and skills to fend off lowbies who have a limited scope of options in combat and with subpar equipment.

Err, I'm not much better at OPs, but let's kick off with linking to the official website, okay? www.ageofconan.com

Then we post a warning that this game will most likely be rated M or 17+ due to excessive gore.

Then we copy-paste the bulletpoints on the official website;