As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

I need to relearn how to tie a tie.

EmperorSethEmperorSeth Registered User regular
edited April 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm embarrased to admit this, but until this January, I worked as a programmer for six years, and there, it was considered "overdressed" if your shirt isn't full of holes. But I'm starting a temp job tomorrow, and it requires, among other things, a tie. I need to relearn how to do so, preferably with clear details or a video demonstration, and since I just learned about this job today, I didn't have time for an easier method. Where can I find some information, or can any of you help me yourselves?

You know what? Nanowrimo's cancelled on account of the world is stupid.
EmperorSeth on

• Options
    The LandoStanderThe LandoStander Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    It's the Half Windsor knot.. which is my preferred knot for use on the job.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FppCJ46C31A

The LandoStander on
    Maybe someday, they'll see a hero's just a man. Who knows he's free.
  • Options
    RUNN1NGMANRUNN1NGMAN Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    This is the one I always use...it has videos and diagrams galore. I'll spare you the "let me google that for you" link, but for future reference it's the first hit if you google "how to tie a tie." :)

http://www.tie-a-tie.net/

RUNN1NGMAN on
  • Options
    edited April 2009
    Thanks! I'll let you know how it goes tomorrow night. If I don't get back to you, assume I somehow managed to strangle myself.

EmperorSeth on
  • Options
    SaddlerSaddler Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Consider a clip on or one of those shirts that comes with the tie already tied if all else fails.

Saddler on
  • Options