As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Underwater Light Orbs

An-DAn-D EnthusiastAshevilleRegistered User regular
edited March 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
So, I'm moving into a cool little lakehouse with a dock that goes into a pretty private cove. It gets really dark down there at night though, so I'd like to light up the water so swimming in the evening isn't as creepy/scary/dark.

What I imagine making are softball-sized light orbs. Super bright LED light inside a waterproof, plastic ball tied to a little weight via some twine. I'd give them enough twine so they float somewhere in the middle of the water. It doesn't get too deep. Maybe 10 feet at the very deepest in the middle - most of it is 3-6 feet deep.

What is the best way to go about this? I'm no engineer. I just have a lot of optimism and the idea that it would look really, really cool if I had ten or so light orbs floating underwater down by my dock.

I want them to be:

1) Move-able. I plan on collecting them when I'm done at night.

2) Rechargeable. I don't want them to be one-time things. I'd like the ability to open the ball, turn off the lights or replace batteries or recharge or whatever.

3) Waterproof (obviously) and somewhat durable (in case they are accidentally kicked while someone is swimming).

I've seen some online that are either really expensive or one-time things. I'd like to make them on my own, and hopefully not spend a whole ton of money. Can I get some advice on the best way to make these? What kind of lights? Where can I find clear orbs that I can put lights in and hopefully waterproof? Is there anything I'm not considering while I imagine how cool this would look? Is this a fool's errand?

Thanks for your help!

An-D on

• Options