As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

America's Prison Industrial Complex: Man finally released after 43 years in solitary

joshofalltradesjoshofalltrades Class TraitorSmoke-filled roomRegistered User regular
edited February 2016 in Debate and/or Discourse
I'm gonna rapid-fire some graphs at you.

US_incarceration_timeline.gif

TX_incrates2001.jpg

FedbyOffense.gif

US_correctional_population_timeline.gif

Incarceration_rates_worldwide.gif

Okay that's probably enough for now.

There's a lot of fodder for discussion here. Whether you feel that the problem is with the incarceration/recidivism rates themselves or feel that these are simply symptoms of a larger, systemic problem, the fact remains that we are doing something wrong in America. I'm by no means an expert and have no personal experience in prison, either as an employee or convict, but I nonetheless feel the issue is important.

One thing that absolutely has to change is the mixing of potentially violent offenders with no intention of becoming rehabilitated with people who, say, commit tax fraud. Technically we have different classes of prisons and different levels of security, and the really violent inmates are typically housed alone. However, with jail crowding at sort of insane levels, many times the books are fudged because there is simply no room to house inmates separately.

Surprising to nobody: throwing kids in jails ruins their lives and makes crime worse. When you send criminals who have fucked up to hang out with a bunch of other criminals all the time, some of which have been committing crimes their entire lives and may be more violent than the first-timers are, what do you imagine they will learn from the experience?