Options

Tell me about the Peace Corps

ProPatriaMoriProPatriaMori Registered User regular
edited December 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
So I haven't had a job since...well. Nevermind. I graduated in May and haven't had a job since well before then. I'm doing fine monetarily, better than fine really, but work feeds the soul and I've been feeding it doing various odd jobs at a friend's ranch.

Today I looked at the Peace Corps' website and thought hell, that sounds like something I could maybe do. Apparently there's an information session coming up soon-ish so I think I'll attend that.

You guys have anything enlightening to say about them?

ProPatriaMori on

• Options
    NotYouNotYou Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    I suppose the most pertinent information I can give you that you might not know is that if you were to apply right now for the peace corps, it would probably be somewhere around 2 years from now before you could actually ship off to wherever. And you have no choice where you go.

NotYou on
  • Options
    LocklockLocklock Registered User regular
    edited December 2009
    The time from application to deployment varies. 2 years is a bit extreme, but for most people it's about a year. However a friend of mine submitted all her paperwork in July and get an offer to go Africa a week ago or so.

I've talked to a lot of Returned Peace Corps volunteers and 99% of them have had good things to say. I've met people who've gone to starving African villages and taught them how to grow enough food to stop people from starving to death. I've meet people who while abroad, end up falling in love with a local and marrying. People who've given children an education they would never have gotten otherwise. People who've gone on to start up NGOs, work in the state department, and/or start whole new industries in these countries. It is immensely rewarding work.