As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Graphic Design 'Cause I'm New Here

Nowhere ManNowhere Man Registered User new member
edited June 2010 in Artist's Corner
Hi, all. I'm a long-time PA reader, but I've never joined the forums until now. Being an amateur graphic designer, I thought I'd post some of my stuff here for critique. Let me know what you think and what you think needs improvement; I'd really appreciate it.

All of the following are "covers" for the (fictional) true-crime magazine Magical Mystery Stories.

lavey2.jpg

dormouse3.jpg

penny.jpg

nowherekidflat.jpg

wilson3.jpg

manson.jpg

Nowhere Man on

• Options
    MustangMustang Arbiter of Unpopular Opinions Registered User regular
    edited May 2010
    Posters need to get their message across in under 3 seconds.
    These are confusing and difficult to read. I unserstand you're going for the psychedelic look, but this could be achieved without having to go to the colour and layout extremes you've decided on here.

Even the most psychedelic album covers didn't go to such lengths.

Disraeli Gears was one of the more out there covers, but it still made sense.....kind of.

Cream_070411095631331_wideweb__300x300.jpg

Are you Experienced still kept a flat background, so that the crazy typeface would'nt clash.

album-The-Jimi-Hendrix-Experience-Are-You-Experienced.jpg

Yeah, what I'm trying to say here, is that your doing to much. Less is more, even in psychedelia.

Mustang on
  • Options
    edited June 2010