As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Dayvan Cowboy and the Quest for Talent [NSFW]

Dayvan CowboyDayvan Cowboy Registered User regular
edited February 2012 in Artist's Corner
Hi! This is my first time posting in this part of the forum, as I'm pretty new to this whole 'art' thing. I started practicing earlier this year using Drawspace as suggested by the sticky here, and then signed up for a 10 session drawing course to get some more personal help. That's over now, so here are some of the fruits of my labor.

First up, a blind contour drawing of my hand. Obviously a bit abstract, but still a fun exercise:
blind-contour-hand.jpg

These are a few random picks from the Drawspace tutorials:
horse.jpg

eyes.jpg

shading1.jpg

shading2.jpg

mouse.jpg

A couple of bigger (A2) charcoal pieces from the drawing course:
charcoal-bottles.jpg

charcoal-key.jpg

Random doodlings since the course finished:
head.jpg

hand.jpg

hands.jpg

ezio-sketch.jpg

At the moment I'm just looking to find my artistic feet, and get some of the basics down. I'm becoming more interested in learning to draw people specifically, and to that end have signed up for a life drawing course running for four evenings this week.

Any comments, critiques and suggestions welcome. I'm from a design background, so I know how to take crit - do your worst!

Dayvan Cowboy on

• Options
    lyriumlyrium Registered User regular
    edited July 2011