As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Trouble in Professional Career Direction

DorkmanDorkman Registered User regular
edited August 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
Hoo boy, where to start.

I graduated a few years ago with a Business Degree with a specialization in Accounting. After getting myself a job at a Big Four accounting firm, I began plunking away at my CA designation. Needless to say the first module was a disaster and I failed. Shortly after that, I was let go as the recession hit in full force.

For whatever reason I decided that I wanted to change my career direction and decided to go to a local community college and take a Mechanical Engineering Technology degree because I like racing. Motorsports be cool! And since they are mechanically inclined, that must be what I am in to! Score!

First year went without a hitch as I hit Dean's List with the highest mark in the class.

The problem is I am seriously doubting that this is what I want to do. Quite honestly I can't think of what I want to be doing in the next 2, 5 or 10 years down the road. Sometimes I want to continue down the path I am going because it is the path I have decided to go down, part of me wants to go back into Accounting and get my letters, considering how difficult it is going to be to get back into a CA firm, and part of me just wants to break down.

I also seem to have serious issues with staying focused at work. I can't seem to work any amount of time before I get an overwhelming sense of boredom and just start dicking around on the internet and what have you. I seriously don't know what I should be doing or where I should go.