As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Learning math

robotbeboprobotbebop Registered User regular
edited April 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
lately I've come across certain things in my own personal research, Fractals, Encryption, etc..

I was never good at math in school, in fact I despised it, and basically had no interest in it. But now I find myself actually wanting to learn this stuff. But it's been damn near 7 years since I graduated high school.

Is there any good online learning material for math? I don't really want to go back to college, and I can't necessarily afford it on top of the student loan I'm already paying off :S

Do not feel trapped by the need to achieve anything, this way you achieve everything.

Oh, hey I'm making a game! Check it out: Dr. Weirdo!
robotbebop on

• Options
    TaximesTaximes Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    I'd say your best bet would probably be to pick up a book - not necessarily a textbook, but the kind of thing you could find at Borders. I'm probably going to do that this summer to brush up on Calculus before taking Calc II with over a year of no math in between. :?

In my experience, the internet is great for quick questions (How do I factor binomials? Can I multiply integrals? What the fuck is l'Hopital's rule?), but I think a book would be easier if you're actually looking for step-by-step instruction and teaching of the material.

Edit: I don't know if you're looking for anything besides fractals and encryption, but for Calculus, my teacher swore upon this book. As the page says, it does indeed try to throw in some humor. I think I remember a related rates question about the rate of wine draining out of a keg and the rate at which party goers became drunk off their asses.

Taximes on
  • Options