Options

Cthulhu Wars - (Chaos in the Great Old One World)

11112131416

Posts

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Oh, the horror...

  • Options
    PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Geth roll 2d6 for horror
    Geth roll 11d6 for cthulhu

    horror:
    2d6 5 [2d6=1, 4]
    cthulhu:
    11d6 37 [11d6=1, 5, 3, 4, 3, 6, 6, 3, 1, 1, 4]

  • Options
    PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Horror dies, @preda to retreat my cultist

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    @MrBody does ghoul want to interfere?

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    No necrophage.

    @Preda

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    Chtulhu cultist go camping in South America.

    @Daemonis to go next.

  • Options
    DaemonisDaemonis Registered User regular
    Undead to the King, 1->0
    @MrBody

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Recruit cultist in East Africe

    7->6

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    edited December 2015
    Board
    gnA2Hnu.jpg
    Player status
    Great Cthulhu
    FmCJ03v.jpg
    Spellbooks-

    Devolve (Ongoing): At the end of any player's Action (even if it's not your turn), transform one or more of your Acolyte Cultists anywhere on the map into Deep Ones.

    Absorb (Pre-Battle): Remove any of your non-GOO units from the area. For each such unit, the Shoggoth adds 3 to his Combat.

    Regenerate (Battle): Star Spawn can accept up to 2 combat results. If they are both kills, it dies. On ANY other combination, it is pained.

    Submerge (Action: Cost 1): If Cthulhu is in an Ocean Area, remove him from the map and place him on your Faction card, along with any or all friendly Units in the same area. On a later Action, perform Submerge again to place Cthulhu (plus any accompanying Units) anywhere on the map.


    Dreams (Action: Cost 3): Choose an area with enemy Acolyte Cultists. Your enemy must eliminate an Acolyte Cultist (chosen by victim) and replace it with one of yours from your pool.



    Y'ha Nthlei (Ongoing): If Cthulhu is in play you get 1 power for each Gate in an Ocean area that you do not control. (uncontrolled Gates do not count, because everyone gets one
    power from them anyway, but Yog-Sothoth does count).

    Crawling Chaos
    8BpZYWf.jpg

    Spellbooks-

    Abduct (Pre-Battle): Eliminate a Nightgaunt, your foe must eliminate a non-GOO unit in the same area.

    Invisibility (Pre-Battle): Each Flying Polyp can select one non-GOO to be sidelined, and not take part in the battle.

    Seek and Destroy (Pre-Battle): Whenever a battle is declared in which one of your units participates, you may move any or all of your Hunting Horrors on the board to the location of the battle.

    Madness (Ongoing): Whenever there is a combat anywhere on the map, you may choose where units that are pained move to.


    Emissary of the Outer Gods (Ongoing): Nyarlathotep must be in play; Unless an enemy Great Old One is in the battle, any kill inflicted on Nyarlathotep becomes a pain.

    The Thousand Forms (Once-Per-Action-Round: Cost 0): Nyarlathotep must be in play; roll 1d6 and all other players have one minute to decide if they will lose that much power. If they decide not to lose the Power, Nyarlathotep gains that much Power.

    Black Goat
    GfTu83P.jpg

    Spellbooks-

    Frenzy (Ongoing): Cultists have a Combat of 1.

    Necrophagy (Post-Battle): Move any or all Ghouls to that battle and apply an additional pain result to each side for each Ghoul so moved. Ghouls that are already in the combat cannot participate in Necrophagy.

    Ghroth (Action: Cost 2): Roll a die. If the result is equal to or less than the number of areas containing Fungi, then your enemies must collectively lose that many Acolyte Cultists from the map. If they can't decide in one minute do it for them.

    The Red Sign (ongoing) your Dark Young can now Build Gates, Control Gates, earn 1 Power each during the Gather Power phase, and add +1 apiece to Shub-Niggurath's Combat. They do not act as Cultists with respect to any other purpose.


    Blood Sacrifice (Ongoing): Each Doom Phase you may sacrifice 1 Cultist to get an Elder Sign. Shub-Niggurath must be in play.

    The Thousand Young (Ongoing): Shub-Niggurath must be in play. All Ghouls, Fungi, and Dark Young cost 1 less power to summon.

    Yellow Sign
    0cTpcNN.jpg
    Spellbooks-

    Passion (Ongoing): When one of your Cultists is eliminated by an enemy Action (Captured, Killed, Etc.) during the Action phase, gain 1 Power.

    Zin Gaya (Action: Cost 1): In an area with an Undead and an enemy Acolyte Cultist replace that Acolyte Cultist with another Undead.

    Shriek of the Byakhee (Action: Cost 1): Move any or all Byakhee on the map to any single area on the map.

    The Screaming Dead (Action: Cost 1): Move the King in Yellow and any Undead in the same area to a neighboring area, you may immediately perform a second, different action (may not perform He Who Must Not Be Named as the second action).

    He Who Must Not Be Named (Action: Cost 1): Hastur immediately moves to an area on the map with a Cultist. He may then perform a second, different action (may not perform The Screaming Dead as the second action).

    The Third Eye (Ongoing): Hastur must be in play; Desecrate costs only 1 Power to perform, and grants you an Elder Sign when successful.

    Doom track
    x05z371.jpg

    Ritual track
    ec5jkO4.jpg

    Elder signs
    2
    4
    3
    2


    Crawling chaos: 8 CURRENT TURN
    Cthulhu: 3
    Yellow sign: 0
    Black goat: 6

    @Preda

    MrBody on
  • Options
    PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    What happened to my other starspawn?

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    Gulp...
    Extracting kidney and sacrifying it
    Spend action and 4 powers to buy invisibility spellbook 8->4

    @Phyphor

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Phyphor wrote: »
    What happened to my other starspawn?

    fixed

  • Options
    PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    I wish it was there! Sadly still in NAsia

    Submerge all in NAtlantic
    3->2


    @MrBody

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Move Dark Young from Indian Ocean to Arabia.

    6->5

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Board
    hWjsUzd.jpg
    Player status
    Great Cthulhu
    FmCJ03v.jpg
    Spellbooks-

    Devolve (Ongoing): At the end of any player's Action (even if it's not your turn), transform one or more of your Acolyte Cultists anywhere on the map into Deep Ones.

    Absorb (Pre-Battle): Remove any of your non-GOO units from the area. For each such unit, the Shoggoth adds 3 to his Combat.

    Regenerate (Battle): Star Spawn can accept up to 2 combat results. If they are both kills, it dies. On ANY other combination, it is pained.

    Submerge (Action: Cost 1): If Cthulhu is in an Ocean Area, remove him from the map and place him on your Faction card, along with any or all friendly Units in the same area. On a later Action, perform Submerge again to place Cthulhu (plus any accompanying Units) anywhere on the map.


    Dreams (Action: Cost 3): Choose an area with enemy Acolyte Cultists. Your enemy must eliminate an Acolyte Cultist (chosen by victim) and replace it with one of yours from your pool.



    Y'ha Nthlei (Ongoing): If Cthulhu is in play you get 1 power for each Gate in an Ocean area that you do not control. (uncontrolled Gates do not count, because everyone gets one
    power from them anyway, but Yog-Sothoth does count).

    Crawling Chaos
    rl3ztRh.jpg

    Spellbooks-

    Abduct (Pre-Battle): Eliminate a Nightgaunt, your foe must eliminate a non-GOO unit in the same area.

    Invisibility (Pre-Battle): Each Flying Polyp can select one non-GOO to be sidelined, and not take part in the battle.

    Seek and Destroy (Pre-Battle): Whenever a battle is declared in which one of your units participates, you may move any or all of your Hunting Horrors on the board to the location of the battle.

    Madness (Ongoing): Whenever there is a combat anywhere on the map, you may choose where units that are pained move to.


    Emissary of the Outer Gods (Ongoing): Nyarlathotep must be in play; Unless an enemy Great Old One is in the battle, any kill inflicted on Nyarlathotep becomes a pain.

    The Thousand Forms (Once-Per-Action-Round: Cost 0): Nyarlathotep must be in play; roll 1d6 and all other players have one minute to decide if they will lose that much power. If they decide not to lose the Power, Nyarlathotep gains that much Power.

    Black Goat
    GfTu83P.jpg

    Spellbooks-

    Frenzy (Ongoing): Cultists have a Combat of 1.

    Necrophagy (Post-Battle): Move any or all Ghouls to that battle and apply an additional pain result to each side for each Ghoul so moved. Ghouls that are already in the combat cannot participate in Necrophagy.

    Ghroth (Action: Cost 2): Roll a die. If the result is equal to or less than the number of areas containing Fungi, then your enemies must collectively lose that many Acolyte Cultists from the map. If they can't decide in one minute do it for them.

    The Red Sign (ongoing) your Dark Young can now Build Gates, Control Gates, earn 1 Power each during the Gather Power phase, and add +1 apiece to Shub-Niggurath's Combat. They do not act as Cultists with respect to any other purpose.


    Blood Sacrifice (Ongoing): Each Doom Phase you may sacrifice 1 Cultist to get an Elder Sign. Shub-Niggurath must be in play.

    The Thousand Young (Ongoing): Shub-Niggurath must be in play. All Ghouls, Fungi, and Dark Young cost 1 less power to summon.

    Yellow Sign
    0cTpcNN.jpg
    Spellbooks-

    Passion (Ongoing): When one of your Cultists is eliminated by an enemy Action (Captured, Killed, Etc.) during the Action phase, gain 1 Power.

    Zin Gaya (Action: Cost 1): In an area with an Undead and an enemy Acolyte Cultist replace that Acolyte Cultist with another Undead.

    Shriek of the Byakhee (Action: Cost 1): Move any or all Byakhee on the map to any single area on the map.

    The Screaming Dead (Action: Cost 1): Move the King in Yellow and any Undead in the same area to a neighboring area, you may immediately perform a second, different action (may not perform He Who Must Not Be Named as the second action).

    He Who Must Not Be Named (Action: Cost 1): Hastur immediately moves to an area on the map with a Cultist. He may then perform a second, different action (may not perform The Screaming Dead as the second action).

    The Third Eye (Ongoing): Hastur must be in play; Desecrate costs only 1 Power to perform, and grants you an Elder Sign when successful.

    Doom track
    x05z371.jpg

    Ritual track
    ec5jkO4.jpg

    Elder signs
    2
    4
    3
    2


    Crawling chaos: 4 CURRENT TURN
    Cthulhu: 2
    Yellow sign: 0
    Black goat: 5

    @Preda

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    Summon cultist in West Africa
    @Phyphor

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
  • Options
    PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Sorry, holidays got busy

    Cultist from SA->SPacific
    2->1


    @MrBody

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Uh oh, what's the next submerge deathball target gonna be...

    Avatar swap Shub with blue cultist in Europe
    5->4


    @Preda

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    Move Nyarlathotep and Flying Polyp to East Africa 3->1

    @Phyphor

  • Options
    PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    I need to reunite my forces before any more attacks

    Submerge in SPacific

    1->0

    @MrBody

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    @Phyphor do you mean surface your submerged units (from North Atlantic) in the South Pacific?

  • Options
    PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    Yup. Cheap way to move a whole stack around

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Avatar swap Shub-Niggarath in Europe with blue in East Africa
    4->3


    @Preda to choose if the cultist or polyp gets swapped.

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    Cultist back to Europe.
    When... If you start combat in E. Africa, Horror will join and polyp will sidetrack a dark young.

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    edited December 2015
    What combat? This is a peaceful game.

    Move Dark Young from Arabia to East Africa
    3->2


    Your move 8-)

    @Preda

    MrBody on
  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    You can't. Attacking is an unlimited action, so you could do it immediately after swapping, moving another moster isn't.

    @MrBody to redo...

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Oops. I simply end my turn then. To you.

    @Preda

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    Sorry for the delay. Combat now is better than combat later, so, let's fight in East Africa. 1->0
    Horror will join and polyp will not sidetrack anyone, more useful as meat shield. Red has no precombat so dices immediately.


    Geth, roll 14d6 for Crawling Chaos
    Geth, roll 14d6 for Black Goat

    Crawling Chaos:
    14d6 44 [14d6=3, 4, 3, 3, 1, 6, 1, 5, 3, 2, 5, 3, 2, 3]
    Black Goat:
    14d6 52 [14d6=6, 5, 5, 1, 3, 6, 3, 1, 6, 3, 2, 5, 3, 3]

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    That's game... I got in only 1 kill and 3 pains, aganist 3 kills and an enormous number of pain, usless because everyone of my peces is already dead...

    @MrBody to choose 1 dead and 3 pained.

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    I don't think using the polyp's invisibility precludes it from participating in combat (unless it uses it on itself).

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    edited January 2016
    Although I had 18 dice total (4 from dark young, 2 from cultists, 12 from Shub (5 cultists + 4 gates + 3 dark young)), so even sidelining a dark young would leave me with 16 dice.

    MrBody on
  • Options
    PhyphorPhyphor Building Planet Busters Tasting FruitRegistered User regular
    edited January 2016
    edit: nm

    Phyphor on
  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    If it makes you feel better, I'm the #1 target now while everyone is going to ignore you.

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Kill ghoul. Pain ghoul and 2 dark young.

    @Preda to choose retreat destinations

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    Everyone runs to south atlantic. I forgot the gates when I rolled.
    Also, I'm pretty sure the polyp work's that way, or at least it seems so in the examples in the rulebook.

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Q. When the Crawling Chaos exempts a Unit with his Invisibility Spell Book, does he pick the Unit? Can he pick an enemy? Can he exempt his Flying Polyp?
    A. Yes, yes, and yes. Remember he cannot exempt a Great Old One.

    Q. What if the Flying Polyp is eliminated by Devour or some other effect after using Invisibility on a Unit? Does this cancel the Invisibility?
    A. No. Effects, once initiated, remain regardless of the fate of the instigating Unit.

    The 2nd one in particular seems to say that polyps have to use invisibility on themselves to be exempted. I did a search for "polyp" and "invisib" in the rulebook and didn't find any examples of this not being the case. Where did you see it?

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    In the how to use and how to beat section. But given the example it could be read in that way too.
    Even using his ability you still have 2 dices more than the ones I throwed, so no change.

  • Options
    MrBodyMrBody Registered User regular
    Minor change since one dark young wouldn't be eligible as a retreat option.

    I read the how to use & beat section about invisibility as putting a lone polyp being a major nuisance since they can never get rid of it (it can just invisible itself every battle).

  • Options
    PredaPreda Registered User regular
    I hadn't thought about using the ability on himself, so I thought it eliminate itself and another monster...

    Anyway, I didn't use it so let the combat stand as it is.

Sign In or Register to comment.