As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Choosing a place to live

CalicaCalica Registered User regular
My job ends at the end of December. I live near Milwaukee, but I don't particularly like it here. I'd like to get out of Wisconsin just to live somewhere else for a while and see how it feels. I'm a software developer, so I could theoretically find a job pretty much anywhere. I'd like to live in a walkable city, and it would be nice to have milder weather - here, we have freezing winters and hot, humid summers.

With such vaguely-defined criteria, I have no idea how to even start narrowing it down. Also, it seems like asking what any particular city is "like" is pretty pointless, since cities can vary enormously from one neighborhood to the next.

On paper, Portland seems like everything I'm looking for, but that just makes me wonder what the catch is. Also, Portland as millennial utopia is such a cliche.

I have depression and anxiety, so instead of being excited at the prospect of a new city, I'm paralyzed by fear that I'll move somewhere and hate it.

How do you choose?

• Options
    dispatch.odispatch.o Registered User regular
    edited October 2017
    Calica wrote: »
    My job ends at the end of December. I live near Milwaukee, but I don't particularly like it here. I'd like to get out of Wisconsin just to live somewhere else for a while and see how it feels. I'm a software developer, so I could theoretically find a job pretty much anywhere. I'd like to live in a walkable city, and it would be nice to have milder weather - here, we have freezing winters and hot, humid summers.