As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Roguelikes for beginners

NexusSixNexusSix Registered User regular
edited August 2007 in Games and Technology
Disclaimer: I have zero experience with Roguelikes and I haven't done any PC gaming since the late 90s. On a scale of 1 to 100, my current PC skills are probably... 5. But I did spend well over 15 years playing P&P/tabletop RPGs, mainly as a Dungeon Master, so I know the background and basics. So, yeah, I'm mostly coming from a complete n00b angle with all of this.

Any who...

I was reading through the Incursion thread and found it really interesting. I love my console gaming, but I'm always pining for the good old days of tossing some d20s and digging through the DMs Guide looking for obscure rules and references. It's just that... I don't have the time for D&D these days and a console allows me to sit down for quick, no-fuss no-muss gaming.

The idea of foresaking graphics in order to come up with some deep RPG gameplay is something I find very appealing, but I'm not sure where to start. I checked the Wiki page on Roguelikes to get a general idea of what they are and how they work, and it sounds like it would be a nice change of pace from my 360 graphics whore gaming.

So what would y'all recommend? Here's what I'm looking for:

* I pulled up the ToME site, and it looked interesting--I'm a Tolkien fan and just finished up The Children of Hurin, so trying to hunt down and destroy Morgoth sounds cool. But I know that doesn't necessarily mean ToME is a good one to start with.