As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Career Path

BrizianBrizian Registered User regular
edited April 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Okay, so I studied graphic design in college, and really intended to focus on web design. I have always intended on moving to a larger city, as the one I am in is not that great for this type of work.

After graduating, I was hired on at a local start-up to work in email marketing (NOT SPAM!). I have done very well in this position, and despite severe cuts and numerous layoffs, I have managed to keep my job. Unfortunately, the company does not seem to be doing that great, and while my pay seemed like a small fortune upon graduation now appears to be a slap in the face, after nearly two years without a raise.

At this point, it's fairly certain that if I ask for a raise I will be, at least, rejected, if not terminated. To complicate matters, even legitimate email marketing seems to be frowned upon in the web design field, and so it seems that I have spent the last few years doing absolutely nothing that will advance my career to the next level.

I am quite handy with xhml, css, and JavaScript. I know my way around a WordPress, and a handful of other content management systems. However, I have absolutely nothing in my portfolio that shows off these skills. For the life of me, I cannot find a soul who will entrust me to build them a website, even for free!

Does anyone have any advice for starting your own freelance business? At this point I have become extremely discouraged.

Brizian on

• JasconiusJasconius sword criminal mad onlineRegistered User regular
    edited April 2008