As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Problem with DVI input to monitor

DruhimDruhim Registered User, ClubPA regular
I'd asked about this in SE and it seems likely the issue is the DVI port on my monitor since the new card I installed recently (PNY GeForce 8600GT) only has DVI outputs but I can only get a signal to my monitor using a VGA adapter and VGA cable to the VGA port on my monitor. With the DVI cable, when I press the input select button on my monitor the screen goes blank except for the text "2: Digital Input"
Then if I press the menu button on my monitor while it's on digital input, it says "2: Digital Input
In power save mode"
but remains otherwise blank.

This is a Dell system (Dimension E521) with a Dell monitor (E207FP) and this was a problem I hadn't encountered before because I had been using the integrated graphics, which didn't offer DVI output of course. The system is 2 months out of warranty so if the port on the monitor is bad, I'm looking at a protracted battle to get Dell to replace it, if I can even convince them to. However I remember someone mentioning to me that it may be a problem with the old driver for the integrated graphics preloading in Vista causing a problem with the DVI input to the monitor. I just updated the drivers for my card from Nvidia's site so I have current drivers. My question is, can the old drivers for the integrated graphics indeed be responsible for this and how can I delete/disable them?

belruelotterav-1.jpg
Druhim on

Posts

  • TransparentTransparent Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    If your new card works with the DVI to VGA adapter I don't think it's a driver issue. Just to start with the simplest explanation, you are turning your computer off when you switch between the digital and analog connection, right?

    Transparent on
    PAXtrain '10, let's do this!
  • DruhimDruhim Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited June 2008
    yes, I have reset my computer after switching the monitor to digital input and still get a blank screen upon boot up (though I can still hear it boot up and can still log into my computer)
    thanks for not assuming anything though, I could easily be overlooking something that would be really obvious to others

    Druhim on
    belruelotterav-1.jpg
  • TransparentTransparent Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    Okay, then next I'd see about trying a different DVI cable before I blame it on the monitor. It could be a crappy single link cable or something.

    Are there two blocks of nine pins (bad)
    dvi_ds.gif
    or one 8 x 3 block of pins (good)?
    dvi_dd.gif

    Transparent on
    PAXtrain '10, let's do this!
  • DruhimDruhim Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited June 2008
    if you're asking what the connectors on the DVI cable look like, it's 2 blocks of 9. That's the cable that Dell sent with the monitor.

    Druhim on
    belruelotterav-1.jpg
  • TransparentTransparent Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    Hmm. I just looked at your monitor's specs, and it's resolution is low enough to work over single link, so that's fine. If I were in your shoes I'd try the monitor on another computer, and or see about trying another DVI monitor on your system to try and narrow down the problem.

    Transparent on
    PAXtrain '10, let's do this!
  • DruhimDruhim Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited June 2008
    hmmm..not easy to arrange, but I'll see what I can do
    appreciate the info though

    Druhim on
    belruelotterav-1.jpg
Sign In or Register to comment.