As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Get my RAM to 1066!!

1ddqd1ddqd Registered User regular
First things first, specs:

Intel Q6700
Asus P5E-VM HDMI
2x1GB Geil Evo-One DDR2-1066
PNY XLR8 8800GT 512MB
Razer Barracuda AC-1 w/ HP-1s
Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610

I've had the system up and running solid for about 3 months. The RAM has been at the board default (DDR2-800) and I'm ready to get my feet wet. Fresh install of Vista 32-bit and all drivers ready to go.

I've gone to the overclocking options in the BIOS and changed the FSB to 266 instead of 200 (everything esle auto), but when it boots, I get "Overclocking failed! Press F1 to load defaults and continue..."

There are MANY options to play with, but I figured Auto would be good enough. So. Where to start?

1ddqd on

Posts

  • PeregrineFalconPeregrineFalcon Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    1ddqd wrote: »
    First things first, specs:

    Intel Q6700
    Asus P5E-VM HDMI
    2x1GB Geil Evo-One DDR2-1066
    PNY XLR8 8800GT 512MB
    Razer Barracuda AC-1 w/ HP-1s
    Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610

    I've had the system up and running solid for about 3 months. The RAM has been at the board default (DDR2-800) and I'm ready to get my feet wet. Fresh install of Vista 32-bit and all drivers ready to go.

    I've gone to the overclocking options in the BIOS and changed the FSB to 266 instead of 200 (everything esle auto), but when it boots, I get "Overclocking failed! Press F1 to load defaults and continue..."

    There are MANY options to play with, but I figured Auto would be good enough. So. Where to start?

    You don't want to touch FSB at all - you need to find the RAM divider/ratio.

    Since you're currently running a Q6700 with DDR2-800, you'll be on a 4:3 divider. Look for a RAM divider/ratio setting of 1:1, and leave everything else alone.

    PeregrineFalcon on
    Looking for a DX:HR OnLive code for my kid brother.
    Can trade TF2 items or whatever else you're interested in. PM me.
  • CmdPromptCmdPrompt Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    I thought the Q6700 should be at 266x10 by default, as it's listed as a 2.66GHz chip on NewEgg. That's kind of odd.

    In any case, It sounds like it might be a voltage issue. When overclocking, you want to set the voltage to the core manually. Looking around on the internets should give you a list of what voltages and corresponding FSB speeds people are using. Also on the voltage front, you should set your RAM voltage to the manufacturer's specifications, (2.35V - 2.5V according to NewEgg) as it is generally undervolted by the mobo (or at least in my experience).

    As noted above though, while FSB settings will have an effect on what your optimal RAM speed is, you're adjusting the clock on the CPU, not the RAM.

    CmdPrompt on
    GxewS.png
  • Macro9Macro9 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    The stock FSB is 266MHZ. I would run my ram (since it's 1066) at the rated speed, rather than 1:1 with 266 (DDR2 533). Just run the divider that brings your ram to 1066.

    For overclocking I would suggest you go to another forum dedicated to that kind of stuff. EOCF and XS are good places to start.

    You didn't list your heatsink. I hope that it isn't the stock one. That would be the most limiting factor in your OC with that quad.

    Macro9 on
    58pwo4vxupcr.png
  • PeregrineFalconPeregrineFalcon Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Macro9 wrote: »
    The stock FSB is 266MHZ. I would run my ram (since it's 1066) at the rated speed, rather than 1:1 with 266 (DDR2 533). Just run the divider that brings your ram to 1066.

    For overclocking I would suggest you go to another forum dedicated to that kind of stuff. EOCF and XS are good places to start.

    You didn't list your heatsink. I hope that it isn't the stock one. That would be the most limiting factor in your OC with that quad.

    Whoops. Yeah, what he said - I forgot that whole "quad-pumped vs double-pumped vs That's What She Said" thing. The ratio you actually want is 1:2, since your CPU is 4xFSB and RAM is 2xFSB.

    PeregrineFalcon on
    Looking for a DX:HR OnLive code for my kid brother.
    Can trade TF2 items or whatever else you're interested in. PM me.
  • 1ddqd1ddqd Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Haha no, it's the Zalman CNPS9500. I'll check out those forums, there's also a thread at HardOCP I found specifically about my motherboard. Is it possible to *only* OC the RAM to that speed?

    1ddqd on
  • Macro9Macro9 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    It will not be overclocked. It will be either a divider to bring it to 1066 or an option to run your ram unlinked. I have no experience with your mobo. Post what all the options you have in your bios in the overclocking section.

    Macro9 on
    58pwo4vxupcr.png
  • 1ddqd1ddqd Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Will do - when I get home.

    1ddqd on
Sign In or Register to comment.