Options

Questions, Discussion and Tutorials

1252627282931»

Posts

  • Options
    EntrYEntrY Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Why can't I log into the PA:AC Battle forum?

    I want to upload my character, but when I try to log in I get the "incorrect password or.. blabla" and I double checked, and it's not incorrect. However I tried the "forgot my password"-feat but that leaves me with "Sorry, but your password cannot be retrieved because your account is currently inactive. Please contact the forum administrator for more information." And I can't really contact the admin since I can't log in. :S

    I take it it's Celestial I'm looking for, but I'm just a bit puzzled...?

    EntrY on
    beavotron wrote:
    hang on, i need to go put an adult diaper on before you continue explaining.

    Flickr ... Myspace
  • Options
    MaydayMayday Cutting edge goblin tech Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    He purged the database from inactive users. Were you INACTIVE? eek.gif

    Mayday on
  • Options
    supabeastsupabeast Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    tmccool wrote: »
    guys...

    is there a special kind of spray paint that works really well on tshirts or should I just use the same stuff that goes on walls?

    Just make sure to not use primers or enamels.

    supabeast on
  • Options
    EntrYEntrY Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Mayday wrote: »
    He purged the database from inactive users. Were you INACTIVE? eek.gif

    Yes, actually I were. I just signed up for an account, so that when I was ready to join the battle I could just go ahead. How ironic.

    Guess I'll just re-register with a different email.

    EntrY on
    beavotron wrote:
    hang on, i need to go put an adult diaper on before you continue explaining.

    Flickr ... Myspace
  • Options
    Mojo_JojoMojo_Jojo We are only now beginning to understand the full power and ramifications of sexual intercourse Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    If anybody has any experience with Adobe Premiere Pro could you point me in the direction of a decent set of tutorials? I've got a copy of 7.0 from my university film society but the help files are vague at best and I'd really like to improve my understanding as I've only got to grips with the basics at the moment.

    Rather than grab a book at random I thought I'd bug you guys first so that I don't end up wasting my money.

    Mojo_Jojo on
    Homogeneous distribution of your varieties of amuse-gueule
  • Options
    GoshingaGoshinga Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Stupid, basic photoshop question:

    In this tutorial on masks , he talks about using a brush to paint on the layer mask. I don't understand. I am unable to directly change or physically use the brush to show which parts I wish to mask.

    When I do use the brush, it affects the layer itself, not the mask.

    Probably a stupid question, but I don't get it.

    Goshinga on
  • Options
    supabeastsupabeast Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Goshinga wrote: »
    Stupid, basic photoshop question:

    In this tutorial on masks , he talks about using a brush to paint on the layer mask. I don't understand. I am unable to directly change or physically use the brush to show which parts I wish to mask.

    When I do use the brush, it affects the layer itself, not the mask.

    Probably a stupid question, but I don't get it.

    First, read the section on quickmask mode in the help file. Then use the quickmask mode to create a selection with your brush, and then use the "Layer > Layer Mask > Hide Selection/Reveal Selection" to turn your selection into a mask. Play with that for a while, then, one you have the hang of quickmask mode, go back and read the help sections on masks.

    supabeast on
  • Options
    Highlander_77Highlander_77 Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    How would one go about editing a thread title...for the purpose of, say, indicating that new pictures have been added to the aforementioned thread?

    Highlander_77 on
    El_Pollo_Diablo.jpg"Madre de Dios! Es el Pollo Diablo!"
  • Options
    MKRMKR Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    How would one go about editing a thread title...for the purpose of, say, indicating that new pictures have been added to the aforementioned thread?

    Edit->Go Advanced

    MKR on
  • Options
    GrifterGrifter BermudaModerator mod
    edited July 2007
    How would one go about editing a thread title...for the purpose of, say, indicating that new pictures have been added to the aforementioned thread?

    When you're looking at the list of all of the threads, you should be able to double click next to your thread title and be able to edit it.

    Grifter on
  • Options
    Highlander_77Highlander_77 Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    MKR wrote: »
    How would one go about editing a thread title...for the purpose of, say, indicating that new pictures have been added to the aforementioned thread?

    Edit->Go Advanced


    Thanks! :)

    Highlander_77 on
    El_Pollo_Diablo.jpg"Madre de Dios! Es el Pollo Diablo!"
  • Options
    Highlander_77Highlander_77 Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Grifter wrote: »
    How would one go about editing a thread title...for the purpose of, say, indicating that new pictures have been added to the aforementioned thread?

    When you're looking at the list of all of the threads, you should be able to double click next to your thread title and be able to edit it.



    I don't see anything like that...maybe that's a mod thing. Anyway, MKR's method worked.

    Highlander_77 on
    El_Pollo_Diablo.jpg"Madre de Dios! Es el Pollo Diablo!"
  • Options
    anableanable North TexasRegistered User regular
    edited July 2007
    So I decided to give this art thing a go and I'm following the Glen Vilppu articles in the OP. I never realized how difficult it is to draw well proportioned cubes at different angles. Is this a bad sign for me? I'm sure it gets easier with time but it seems step one should be a bit easier than this.

    anable on
  • Options
    MaydayMayday Cutting edge goblin tech Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    No, it IS supposed to be difficult.
    You might try constructing them on a cylinder (I don't know if there's a tutorial of how it works, so I might make one if you want). That's how I started in my school.
    Also, remember to draw on a big format.

    Mayday on
  • Options
    anableanable North TexasRegistered User regular
    edited July 2007
    I'm not sure what you mean by constructing them on a cylinder.

    When you say big format, do you just mean use a lot of paper space?

    anable on
  • Options
    MaydayMayday Cutting edge goblin tech Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Yeah, I was learning to draw on 50x70cm.
    I'll do a tute on the cube/cylinder thing tomorrow. It's basically the only way to get the cube 100% correct in perspective.

    Mayday on
  • Options
    Shujin KatanaShujin Katana ClubPA regular
    edited July 2007
    GIMP: for the sake of simplicity let's say the image is an oval, the canvas is rectangular, outside of the oval there are these grey and dark grey grid scheme that i thought implied transparency but when i host it, it comes out white when posted, how do i make these outer-oval areas transparent?

    Shujin Katana on
    DP: 0902 9415 9324
  • Options
    drinkinstoutdrinkinstout Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    you have to save it as an image format that supports transparency - for hosting on the web, GIF (I believe) is your only surefire choice.

    drinkinstout on
  • Options
    Shujin KatanaShujin Katana ClubPA regular
    edited July 2007
    thank you ^_^

    Shujin Katana on
    DP: 0902 9415 9324
  • Options
    GrifterGrifter BermudaModerator mod
    edited July 2007
    .png works for all of the good web browsers. IE sucks balls.

    Grifter on
  • Options
    MKRMKR Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    I'm having a fun problem with the macro mode on my cheap (~$300) digital camera. It focuses just fine on the plant the spider is on (for the most part), but not on the spider. And of course it doesn't have manual focus. :(

    http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w186/herebepixels/unfocusedspider.jpg

    Is there anything that can be done about it? Could it be the light coming from the sun (it was just below the tree line when I took this) that's causing it? I've been able to get it to focus like I want before, just not outside of the house.

    MKR on
  • Options
    supabeastsupabeast Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    I think you just have too much light, which is narrowing your aperture dramatically and changing your focus when you take the shot. Try reading the Wikipedia entry on depth of field. If you really like doing outdoor photography you should probably uprgrade to an SLR camera with an aperture preview button that allows you to see what your focus will really be.

    supabeast on
  • Options
    MKRMKR Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    supabeast wrote: »
    I think you just have too much light, which is narrowing your aperture dramatically and changing your focus when you take the shot. Try reading the Wikipedia entry on depth of field. If you really like doing outdoor photography you should probably uprgrade to an SLR camera with an aperture preview button that allows you to see what your focus will really be.

    Unfortunately SLRs appear to run from 500-infinity, which puts it way out of my price range. Photography is one of a few hobbies, and it gets the short end of the budget stick. :)

    I'll try shooting in other lighting conditions and see what happens.

    Edit: Setting it to "auto" and turning on macro mode seems to help considerably. Yay.

    MKR on
  • Options
    MagicToasterMagicToaster JapanRegistered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Ahahahah! I have to laugh to keep from crying! I've been working on Illustrator CS2 for 3 days on this file, I'm one day away from the dead line, and suddenly when I open the file I get this message.

    corruptedoq1.gif

    I've gotten it before, but never at such an inconvenient time. The file was totally lost! Ahahah! Aha! AAARRRGGHHH!!!

    Anyone ever get this before? I'm suspecting it could be a memory related problem, seeing as I often run out of memory because I'm using a computer meant for Secretaries using MS Word.

    Anyway, let's start building that sucker again!

    MagicToaster on
  • Options
    MKRMKR Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Ahahahah! I have to laugh to keep from crying! I've been working on Illustrator CS2 for 3 days on this file, I'm one day away from the dead line, and suddenly when I open the file I get this message.

    corruptedoq1.gif

    I've gotten it before, but never at such an inconvenient time. The file was totally lost! Ahahah! Aha! AAARRRGGHHH!!!

    Anyone ever get this before? I'm suspecting it could be a memory related problem, seeing as I often run out of memory because I'm using a computer meant for Secretaries using MS Word.

    Anyway, let's start building that sucker again!

    Try opening it up in GIMP.

    MKR on
  • Options
    MagicToasterMagicToaster JapanRegistered User regular
    edited July 2007
    GIMP has vector support? O_o

    In any case, you gave me an awesome idea!!! I popped it Photoshop and it displays fine, all I have to do now is build it in Illustrator again using the rasterized photoshop version as my template!

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

    I'll make that dead line after all!!!

    MagicToaster on
  • Options
    supabeastsupabeast Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Try saving new a new version of a file at least daily, and preferrably any time you make major changes. That way if something gets borked as you go along, you can always just go back to the one you had yesterday.

    After Effects even has auto-incremented save files as a feature—I don’t understand why Adobe doesn’t make it a universal feature.

    supabeast on
  • Options
    MKRMKR Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    GIMP has vector support? O_o

    In any case, you gave me an awesome idea!!! I popped it Photoshop and it displays fine, all I have to do now is build it in Illustrator again using the rasterized photoshop version as my template!

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

    I'll make that dead line after all!!!

    http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w186/herebepixels/gimp.jpg :P

    MKR on
  • Options
    Kewop DecamKewop Decam Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Is there a way to set PS to unlimited undos or a high amount?

    Kewop Decam on
    pasigfa7.jpg
  • Options
    DefyAllLogicDefyAllLogic Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    if any one is into contests... www.cutandpaste.com (contests and 15 min digital art)

    DefyAllLogic on
    www.tavialewis.com

    http://defyalllogic.deviantart.com/gallery/

    Sketch Blog

    wanna be my friend?

    Ray: Freestyle is for moronic little kids and hippie freaks.
    Molly Gunn: It's fun.
    Ray: Fundamentals are the building blocks of fun.
  • Options
    MKRMKR Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    if any one is into contests... www.cutandpaste.com (contests and 15 min digital art)

    This would probably be a good thing to ask a mod about so you can make a thread for it. :P

    MKR on
  • Options
    DefyAllLogicDefyAllLogic Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    how do you find a mod?

    DefyAllLogic on
    www.tavialewis.com

    http://defyalllogic.deviantart.com/gallery/

    Sketch Blog

    wanna be my friend?

    Ray: Freestyle is for moronic little kids and hippie freaks.
    Molly Gunn: It's fun.
    Ray: Fundamentals are the building blocks of fun.
  • Options
    GrifterGrifter BermudaModerator mod
    edited July 2007
    MKR wrote: »
    if any one is into contests... www.cutandpaste.com (contests and 15 min digital art)

    This would probably be a good thing to ask a mod about so you can make a thread for it. :P

    Not gonna happen.

    Grifter on
  • Options
    supabeastsupabeast Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Is there a way to set PS to unlimited undos or a high amount?

    Preferences > Performance > History and Cache > History States. Just remember that if you’re editing hi-res raster images this can suck up a lot of RAM.

    supabeast on
  • Options
    GodfatherGodfather Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    I need the title of the Burne Hogarth book that covers light and value. I heard that he made one, but i've yet to find it anywhere.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Godfather on
  • Options
    Angel_of_BaconAngel_of_Bacon Moderator Mod Emeritus
    edited July 2007
    Godfather wrote: »
    I need the title of the Burne Hogarth book that covers light and value. I heard that he made one, but i've yet to find it anywhere.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Dynamic Light and Shade

    It's in the OP, come on man.

    Angel_of_Bacon on
  • Options
    GodfatherGodfather Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    My mistake.

    Thanks for the help.

    Godfather on
  • Options
    Kewop DecamKewop Decam Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Grifter wrote: »
    MKR wrote: »
    if any one is into contests... www.cutandpaste.com (contests and 15 min digital art)

    This would probably be a good thing to ask a mod about so you can make a thread for it. :P

    Not gonna happen.

    Why not?

    Kewop Decam on
    pasigfa7.jpg
  • Options
    NamNam Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    Grifter wrote: »
    MKR wrote: »
    if any one is into contests... www.cutandpaste.com (contests and 15 min digital art)

    This would probably be a good thing to ask a mod about so you can make a thread for it. :P

    Not gonna happen.

    Why not?

    That contest looks pretty damn cool! It goes to portland, actually really really close to my hood.

    Nam on
This discussion has been closed.