As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Laptops Ahoy!

zhen_roguezhen_rogue Registered User regular
edited December 2006 in Help / Advice Forum
Hello again H/A:

I need advice on purchasing a laptop.

This system will serve as both my workstation (i'm an architect running AutoCAD 2007 and ArchitecturalDesktop 2007), and my home gaming system (must run say, Oblivion on max settings smoothly).

I will be taking this with me to work during the day (connecting it to a network/LCD DVI monitor/keyboard/mouse), and bringing it home at night (stand-alone laptop gaming, connecting to cable internet and a printer only).

Weight is not an issue, nor is battery life.
Rarely will I be operating this system outside of AC power, and if so it will only be running outlook/word/etc. (no gaming or AutoCAD).

Budget: +/- $3000, purchasing in US for use in US.

Screen size: Must be 17" 1900x1200 WUXGA

System "looks" or other sex appeal is not important - only reliability and performance are priority issues.
I am a consultant that is paid on an hourly fee schedule. Every single hour that goes by if my computer is down/away for repairs costs me dearly.

Must have minimum 80g HDD @ 7200rpm

Must have minimum 2gig DDR RAM

Must have dual-core processor (intel T7200 preferred)

Must have dual-layer DVD capable optical drive

Reseller that supplies the system must offer 3 year extended warranty with option for accidental break/damage warranty.

Based on all of the above, i've checked out a ton of different options.
Dell, Alienware, Sager, Asus, Sony, WidowPC, IBM, Acer, VoodooPC, to name but a few.
I've also gone through a ton of resellers.

So far, i've come down to this choice:

Sager NP5760 - V
$2958.00

17" WUXGA (1920 x 1200) Glare (Glossy) Type Display