As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Poor Halfling Rogue

Ace JonAce Jon Registered User regular
edited August 2010 in Critical Failures
Last summer, I started playing DnD (4e) with a group of friends. It was my first DnD experience, and the group experience was mixed (although we were all new to 4e). We played the H1 Keep on the Shadowfell and it was fun and good. I was an eladrin wizard! We also had a dwarf fighter, halfling rogue, tiefling warlord and a communally-played extra character, human cleric.

When we completed the campaign, I wanted to have a go at DMing. Our previous DM's a good guy (in fact we're all really good friends) but there's only so much you can do with a preset book, we agreed. So! For my adventure, I set the 'hook' that the wizard (my old character) and the cleric (npc) are missing from a month-after reunion. In our place arrives a beaten up owl with a call for help - animal messenger! And in appears a new player - the old DM - as an elf ranger.

It's been good - the players are at level 4 and for the most part having a lot of fun. But here comes the problem - this new elf ranger seems to outclass our rogue in battle nine times out of ten, and can tank almost as well as the dwarf fighter if needs be (although obviously they try to avoid such a situation). The ranger at-wills just seem to do a lot more base damage than the rogue's, and require less to complete (as the rogue's "thing" is gaining combat advantage). This has been detrimental to the rogue player's enjoyment of battles.