As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Oil painting tips, critiques?

arnaquerarnaquer LEXRegistered User regular
I recently tried my hand at oil painting, I've never used them before.

I'm in the process of making a realistic style Zelda portrait, but I'm not sure on what to do for the background. I'm considering a silhouetted forest scene, but am worried about making it too dark. I'm having a "I have no idea what I'm doing" moment.

Also hair. Someone please give me tips on how to paint hair.

a7jlwwc85y29.jpg

Feel free to comment, critique, share your own.

• Options
    IrukaIruka Registered User, Moderator mod
    Welcome to the AC!

You may want to look around and get a feel for the forum. Generally when artists first turn up, we ask about their goals and want to see a few pieces, We want to help you with your individual pieces by critiquing your general skillset, and pushing you to exercises that will help you accomplish your goals.

Oil is a beast of a medium, and I don't have much input on using it, I never overcame it in college. I can say though, it looks like there's some issues with your drawing more structurally. How often do you draw and paint? Have you ever taken any classes? Is this a hobby, or would you like to pursue it professionally? The more information we have, the better.

• Options
    MeGiantMeGiant Artist San DiegoRegistered User regular
    Cool painting! Hair itself is always tricky. A lot of it i think comes down to understanding the busy/rest, thick/thin area of the hair. if you can see the overall shape of the hair, I think you can then use your judgement in how to break it up.

• Options
    franciumfrancium Registered User regular