As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Blue Gleepstone does stuff

BlueGleepstoneBlueGleepstone Super SketchyRegistered User new member
edited February 2018 in Artist's Corner
Hi all, I've been looking for a place to get some critique on my art and have heard great things about the PA forums so I figured I'd give it a go!
For a little background I'm a college graduate that bounced back and forth between art and programming majors about 5 times ending up with degrees in Computer Animation and Graphic Design and with a Computer Science degree I'm currently finishing up. (and probably a traditional art one someday, because I clearly have a problem.)
I took a pretty long break from art over the last few years but I recently re-found my motivation in drawing random reddit posts of all things.
Now that I've been back at the sketchbook for a while I'm looking to try to start actively improving my work.

I draw primarily with a .3mm pencil, multiliner pens, and copic markers.
I put up all of my drawings on Instagram, my Reddit profile, and Twitter.

The things I'm currently trying to focus on (kind of putting these here as a reminder for myself!)
  • More fluid and dynamic figures
    -It's been a few years since I've really done any figure drawing and my figures have become very stiff, flat, and oddly proportioned.
  • Better shading/color usage
    -I'd say about half of the time I end up overworking a drawing during the shading/color phase; going to try to use more control and preplanning in my shading. Also looking to try to get better at softer transitions of color.
  • Drawing more from life
    -I don't draw from life nearly enough and it probably shows in my work. Just invested in a small sketchbook to help out with this.
  • Drawing more quickly