Options

Monkey Business - The Identity

Fire_FoxFire_Fox Registered User regular
edited March 2008 in Artist's Corner
So I have been working on this for a couple days and I need a reality check.

I am working on a corporate identity for MonkeyBusinessCards.com.

My plan is to create a cute monkey. I plan on coloring it similarly to the this one:

monkey_color.jpg

Note I didn't spend a lot of time on it but I think it conveys the idea. The glass 3d'ish style. I also have these other monkeys some good some bad.

monkey001.jpg

monkey002.jpg

monkey003.jpg

What I am looking for is:
Do you like any of them?
I am looking for cute and clever does any here have that potential?
Do I need to do a complete work over? Suggestions?
As you can tell from my painting I am not that experienced... Is there a good tutorial on how to make this thing come to life?

Thanks

edit: more monkeys
monkey004.jpg

monkey005.jpg

Fire_Fox on

• Options
    MustangMustang Arbiter of Unpopular Opinions Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    To be honest, I think the design is a bit generic. The thing with monkey's is that an awful lot of small businesses tend to use them, so you really need to define yourself from the crowd. No easy feat, especially in this case. But if it's going to be part of the company logo it needs to be instantly identifiable, not blend in with everyone else.

Mustang on
  • Options
    Chris WChris W Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    I've been working on monkeys for a friends site recently, and I must admit it was a bit difficult. It actually kind of sucked, I'm still not totally happy with it, but it's something for you to look at.

gdmonkeyfuckingwithwires.jpg
    monkeypanel2copy.jpg
    monkeycomicdone.jpg

And yeah, I forgot the damned things nose holes.

Chris W on
  • Options
    edited March 2008
    Mustang wrote: »