As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[WOW] Noob question thread.

DrawbackDrawback Registered User regular
edited December 2008 in MMO Extravaganza
I'm interested in starting playing WoW(crack).

I'd like to know if I should buy the WotLK expansion right from the start.

I'm a total noob in MMOs, so any pointers for a starting player are appreciated...

Drawback on

• Options
    NeurotikaNeurotika Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    You won't need WotLK until 55 (to play a Death Knight), or 68 (getting to new content).

Neurotika on
  • Options
    firewaterwordfirewaterword Satchitananda Pais Vasco to San FranciscoRegistered User regular
    edited December 2008
    Buy the Battlechest if you'd like to play as a squidface or blood elf, then Wrath once you can make use of it.

firewaterword on
    Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu
  • Options
    DrawbackDrawback Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    So, no new classes/races available only in the expansions?

Drawback on
  • Options
    reVersereVerse Attack and Dethrone God Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    Blood Elves and Draenei become available once you buy The Burning Crusade, and the Death Knight becomes available once you buy the Wrath of the Lich King, but you need a pre-existing level 55 character to unlock the class.

reVerse on
  • Options
    Fig-DFig-D Tustin, CA, USRegistered User regular
    edited December 2008
    Two new race were introduced in the first expansion, but the only new class was Death Kngiht, introduced in WotLK, and you need a Level 55 character to access them.

Have you played the free trial yet? I *think* the trial will allow you to start as the two "new" races (Draenei and Blood Elves) now.

Fig-D on