Options

[Computer Build Thread] - Bemoan the passing of the old thread, but celebrate the new!

• Options
    emp123emp123 Registered User regular
    edited August 2012
    Guys, some years ago SOMEONE (I think it was Atlus, but I'm not sure) released a dual graphics card. That is, a card with two identical chipsets on one card. The whole thing was gold. Its not that MSI thing. Any ideas?

The GTX 690 (2 680s), GTX 590 (2 580s), and I think the AMD 6990 (2 6970s?) are all 2 chips on one board. The 590 may have used detuned 580 chips though.

They are also very very expensive, like $1000 expensive.
    Is a full tower necessary? It would be nice for it to be smaller, but I don't want to sacrifice hardware space if you think that'll be an issue. I'm flexible on just about everything. Also, since I'm new at this I don't know how to overclock. Why wouldnt you want to? Does it make things unstable or is it just a question of cooling?

The ones I linked are all mid towers, but even the modern mid towers are kind of big. Definitely bigger than yesteryear.

As for overclocking its just a way to force a chip to operate faster than it was rated for (although not necessarily faster than its design potential, although you could go that far and fry your chip). For instance, I have an i7 2600k that was sold as a 3.5ghz processor that is currently running at 4.5ghz.

Its easy enough to do, but I understand people's trepidation as you run the risk of either frying your chip or significantly reducing the lifespan of your chip. Although for the most part both of these risks are mitigated with proper cooling.

emp123 on
  • Options
    CaptainBeyondCaptainBeyond I've been out walking Registered User regular
    Nah, its none of those, it was quite abit earlier. I think it might have been one of the first :/

• Options
    AlectharAlecthar Alan Shore We're not territorial about that sort of thing, are we?Registered User regular