As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Unable to copy+paste images from digicam

CalliusCallius Registered User regular
edited December 2006 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey,

My girlfriend has a canon point-and-click camera.

When I connect it to my computer via usb I am unable to copy+paste the files directly from the camera onto my hard drive. It just doesn't do anything.

I can, however, use the windows camera wizard to copy files on to my hard drive.

Does anyone have any ideas on what may be causing this?

tonksigblack.png
Callius on

Posts

  • Options
    SeñorAmorSeñorAmor !!! Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    Does your computer see the camera as a removable hard drive or something else?

    SeñorAmor on
  • Options
    SzechuanosaurusSzechuanosaurus Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited December 2006
    That's just what some cameras do. Most of them don't work like removable media storage devices.

    Szechuanosaurus on
  • Options
    ZifnabZifnab Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    Is there a compact flash card in the camera, or are you just working off the camera's internal memory (I think Canon uses compact flash..). I seem to remember my Sony camera only showing up as an external device after I had installed a memory stick, something to do with the way the computer reads the camera's internal memory. That might have something to do with it, although I'm not sure how to use this knowledge to fix your current problem.

    Zifnab on
  • Options
    CalliusCallius Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    Does your computer see the camera as a removable hard drive or something else?

    It's showing the camera as a camera, which is a removable media device.

    I was previously able to copy+paste the files over to my hard drive, which is why this is frustrating me so much.

    Also, it uses Compact Flash, it does not have internal memory (or at least, it does not write the image files to any internal memory it may have).

    Callius on
    tonksigblack.png
  • Options
    denihilistdenihilist Ancient and Mighty Registered User, Moderator mod
    edited December 2006
    This happened to me when my batteries were low. Have you changed the batteries?

    denihilist on
  • Options
    CalliusCallius Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    denihilist wrote:
    This happened to me when my batteries were low. Have you changed the batteries?

    Yes, multiple times.

    Mind you, this is also the same computer which has decided that burning CD's is too much work. So it doesn't.

    I hate my computer and am tempted to reformat, but... ugh.

    Callius on
    tonksigblack.png
Sign In or Register to comment.