As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Component or S-video?

Nohbody8Nohbody8 Registered User regular
Just got DirecTV and the guy who installed it has the non-HD channels piped in through the component cables. I already have an S-video cable. I'm wondering if the picture quality of non-HD through S-video is better than non-HD through component cables. It doesn't look as good as I remember but that could be that I haven't had cable in two weeks or that I've never had satellite before. Thoughts or suggestions?

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] "We're the middle children of history, man."
Nohbody8 on

Posts

  • Options
    AriviaArivia I Like A Challenge Earth-1Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    three cables<s-video<five cables.

    Arivia on
    huntresssig.jpg
  • Options
    elliotw2elliotw2 Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    RCA/Composite is the second worst way of transmitting video, and S-Video is slightly above it. Component is far better than both

    elliotw2 on
    camo_sig2.pngXBL:Elliotw3|PSN:elliotw2
  • Options
    wunderbarwunderbar What Have I Done? Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Component>S-Video>Composite

    Thread over.

    wunderbar on
    XBL: thewunderbar PSN: thewunderbar NNID: thewunderbar Steam: wunderbar87 Twitter: wunderbar
  • Options
    ZackSchillingZackSchilling Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Please, the thread isn't over until we've at least discussed RF Modulators, SCART, and VGA.

    ZackSchilling on
    ghost-robot.jpg
  • Options
    wunderbarwunderbar What Have I Done? Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Please, the thread isn't over until we've at least discussed RF Modulators, SCART, and VGA.

    We're talking with an OP who thought s-Video was better than component for SD content. Also, I have blocked RF Modulators out of my memories. They are too painful.

    wunderbar on
    XBL: thewunderbar PSN: thewunderbar NNID: thewunderbar Steam: wunderbar87 Twitter: wunderbar
  • Options
    elliotw2elliotw2 Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    RF mod is the worst in use, SCART is for you weird foreigners, and VGA isn't exactly common on TV decoders

    edit: now that I think about it, I have a RF mod hooked up on my Genesis model 1, for three main reasons: I don't have enough composite ports to hook up it, a SNES, and a Wii, I have a set of good speakers providing sound for it, and I couldn't really see much of a difference between the cheap RCA cable and the RF mod

    elliotw2 on
    camo_sig2.pngXBL:Elliotw3|PSN:elliotw2
  • Options
    lowlylowlycooklowlylowlycook Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Hmmm, but why not put the non-hd channels through HDMI? Is there something I'm missing?

    lowlylowlycook on
    steam_sig.png
    (Please do not gift. My game bank is already full.)
  • Options
    elliotw2elliotw2 Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    I'd assume that he has a shit TV that doesn't support HD, thus no HDMI

    elliotw2 on
    camo_sig2.pngXBL:Elliotw3|PSN:elliotw2
  • Options
    Nohbody8Nohbody8 Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    My TV only has one HDMI input so I reserve that for the receiver 'cause I can hook my DVD player and 360. I would prefer to run the satellite through the receiver also but my wife would not want to always have to mess with the receiver in order to simply watch some television. Thanks for the help everyone. I just wasn't sure about the non-HD channels over cables meant more for digital content.

    Nohbody8 on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] "We're the middle children of history, man."
  • Options
    Nohbody8Nohbody8 Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    elliotw2 wrote: »
    I'd assume that he has a shit TV that doesn't support HD, thus no HDMI

    It's a 32" Sony Bravia. I guess it's true what they say about assuming.

    Nohbody8 on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] "We're the middle children of history, man."
  • Options
    ImprovoloneImprovolone Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Nohbody8 wrote: »
    My TV only has one HDMI input so I reserve that for the receiver 'cause I can hook my DVD player and 360. I would prefer to run the satellite through the receiver also but my wife would not want to always have to mess with the receiver in order to simply watch some television. Thanks for the help everyone. I just wasn't sure about the non-HD channels over cables meant more for digital content.

    Buy a Harmony universal remote. Even the cheapest one will do what you need and do it fucking awesomely.

    Here is the why of component
    Component is better than s-video because it breaks down the image into three different colours and transmits those separately. S-video and composite (single yellow) is transmitting the entire image all at once.

    Improvolone on
    Voice actor for hire. My time is free if your project is!
  • Options
    QuantuxQuantux Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Nohbody8 wrote: »
    elliotw2 wrote: »
    I'd assume that he has a shit TV that doesn't support HD, thus no HDMI

    It's a 32" Sony Bravia. I guess it's true what they say about assuming.

    Fancy names don't make up for only one input... :mrgreen:

    But seriously, why would you pay for television and not get any HD? You like wanting to claw your own eyes out? Because thats what 480i at 4x3 will make you do, even with the most expensive of name brand TV's...

    Quantux on
    PSN/Steam - Quantux

  • Options
    Nohbody8Nohbody8 Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Quantux wrote: »
    Nohbody8 wrote: »
    elliotw2 wrote: »
    I'd assume that he has a shit TV that doesn't support HD, thus no HDMI

    It's a 32" Sony Bravia. I guess it's true what they say about assuming.

    Fancy names don't make up for only one input... :mrgreen:

    But seriously, why would you pay for television and not get any HD? You like wanting to claw your own eyes out? Because thats what 480i at 4x3 will make you do, even with the most expensive of name brand TV's...

    This is my fault for not clarifying in the OP but what I was planning on doing was leaving the component cables plugged in for the HD stuff and using the S-video cable for non-HD stuff. The reason I was initially asking was 'cause with my Time Warner Cable HD-DVR box from before we moved would put these annoying bars on the sides of the screen for non-HD content piped through the component cables. The DirecTV box we have now, from what I've seen so far, seems to fix this internally so I'm just leaving the component cables. As far as the one input goes, it's inconvenient but there are workarounds available if I had the funds available to implement them.

    Nohbody8 on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] "We're the middle children of history, man."
  • Options
    ImprovoloneImprovolone Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Do you have a 16:9 TV?
    When 4:3 information is sent to the TV, the TV can put up black bars and retain the original aspect ratio, zoom in on the image and fill the screen while cutting off edges and killing the resolution, or stretch the image and retail all of the information and ruin the proportion.
    In short, you're watching TV wrong.

    Improvolone on
    Voice actor for hire. My time is free if your project is!
  • Options
    DratatooDratatoo Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Do you have a 16:9 TV?
    When 4:3 information is sent to the TV, the TV can put up black bars and retain the original aspect ratio, zoom in on the image and fill the screen while cutting off edges and killing the resolution, or stretch the image and retail all of the information and ruin the proportion.
    In short, you're watching TV wrong.

    Limed for correct way to handle 4:3 source. I really want to strangle persons who stretch a 4:3 source to 16:9.

    Zooming in isn't a nice option because - in most cases you are losing picture information and "enhance" / noise / encoding artifacts this way because you are zooming in (depends if you got analog / digital TV format) - The scaler in you decoding box / TV might bring up other issues as well.

    One person I know claims that the the resulting picture isn't HD if it isn't stretched to 16:9 - "Do you know what? The resulting picture from you analogue TV cable / service WASN'T IN A HD FORMAT TO BEGIN WITH! So much hate.

    Dratatoo on
  • Options
    DehumanizedDehumanized Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    i find zoom mode useful for widescreen DVDs that don't properly scale to fill the image on my 16:9 TV.

    it's probably not doing the greatest thing to the overall picture quality, but it's really quite annoying to have to watch a movie that's both letterboxed and pillarboxed within a 4:3 area for no reason.

    Dehumanized on
  • Options
    ImprovoloneImprovolone Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    16:9 and 4:3 are not the only resolutions things are shot in. There are a number of other widescreen resolutions that when shown in their original format will still letterbox on a TV. 2.35:1 is the most common, but there are others.
    As long as the image touches two sides of the TV, its fine. What is wrong and bad is when the image has both.
    169-letter-43-pillar.jpg

    That usually happens when something is shot in 4:3 and broadcast over something in 16:9, but it can happen in a movie (and this is bad).

    Improvolone on
    Voice actor for hire. My time is free if your project is!
  • Options
    ElJeffeElJeffe Moderator, ClubPA mod
    edited September 2009
    Nohbody8 wrote: »
    My TV only has one HDMI input so I reserve that for the receiver 'cause I can hook my DVD player and 360. I would prefer to run the satellite through the receiver also but my wife would not want to always have to mess with the receiver in order to simply watch some television. Thanks for the help everyone. I just wasn't sure about the non-HD channels over cables meant more for digital content.

    Buy a Harmony universal remote. Even the cheapest one will do what you need and do it fucking awesomely.

    Here is the why of component
    Component is better than s-video because it breaks down the image into three different colours and transmits those separately. S-video and composite (single yellow) is transmitting the entire image all at once.

    Not quite.

    Composite transfers the entire image in one signal.

    S-video transfers the image in two signals - one for luma (basically brightness) and one for color.

    Component transfers the image in three signals. There are different ways to do it, but the most common for TVs nowadays is luma, blue information, and red information. (Green information can be calculated based on the other three, so it doesn't need a separate signal.) RGB cables are a type of component cable that does transmit the information as red, blue, and green color info, but they aren't commonly used for TVs (at least in the US).

    ElJeffe on
    I submitted an entry to Lego Ideas, and if 10,000 people support me, it'll be turned into an actual Lego set!If you'd like to see and support my submission, follow this link.
  • Options
    ElJeffeElJeffe Moderator, ClubPA mod
    edited September 2009
    wunderbar wrote: »
    Please, the thread isn't over until we've at least discussed RF Modulators, SCART, and VGA.

    We're talking with an OP who thought s-Video was better than component for SD content. Also, I have blocked RF Modulators out of my memories. They are too painful.

    Man, I remember when I was in college and had my Genesis, SNES and NES daisy-chained together into the RF jack. Now that will get you a shitty picture.

    ElJeffe on
    I submitted an entry to Lego Ideas, and if 10,000 people support me, it'll be turned into an actual Lego set!If you'd like to see and support my submission, follow this link.
  • Options
    ImprovoloneImprovolone Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Super keen!

    Improvolone on
    Voice actor for hire. My time is free if your project is!
  • Options
    ElJeffeElJeffe Moderator, ClubPA mod
    edited September 2009
    Also, regarding the Harmonys - I love it and could not live without it, but my wife - for whatever reason - hates it. Even though it's super-convenient and sexy as hell. So a Harmony may not satisfy the Wife Factor.

    ElJeffe on
    I submitted an entry to Lego Ideas, and if 10,000 people support me, it'll be turned into an actual Lego set!If you'd like to see and support my submission, follow this link.
  • Options
    ImprovoloneImprovolone Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    This is the first I've heard of that. Does... does she like buttons and settings?

    Improvolone on
    Voice actor for hire. My time is free if your project is!
  • Options
    mcdermottmcdermott Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    ElJeffe wrote: »
    Also, regarding the Harmonys - I love it and could not live without it, but my wife - for whatever reason - hates it. Even though it's super-convenient and sexy as hell. So a Harmony may not satisfy the Wife Factor.

    Your wife is obviously broken.

    Mine, on the other hand, worships properly at the altar of Harmony.

    mcdermott on
  • Options
    ImprovoloneImprovolone Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Or his wife is awesome and loves fiddling with electronics (and knows what she is doing). I'm not holding my breath on that though. Maybe you can press Help to fix her?

    Improvolone on
    Voice actor for hire. My time is free if your project is!
Sign In or Register to comment.