As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

PS3 1080p/720p issues

LaPuzzaLaPuzza Registered User regular
edited October 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm new to the PS3 world, and I've got an unxepected issue problem relating to video output.

My TV accepts all formats up to 1080P via HDMI. I set up the PS3 to run at 1080p. The XMB thing runs at 1080p. However, when I play either of the 2 games I have (Madden 10 or Assassin's Creed) it drops to 720p according to my TV. Madden specifically says that it runs in 1080p.

Did I miss a setting to make the PS3 play games in 1080p, or are some games falsely advertised as being 1080p when they are not?

LaPuzza on

• eternalbleternalbl Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    That's a fairly well known issue with Madden 10.

eternalbl on
    eternalbl.png
  • LaPuzzaLaPuzza Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    eternalbl wrote: »

Thanks. I did some Google adding Madden 10 into the mix and found my answer. Apparently 1080p is a common white lie on PS3 games. Glad I got a TV that does a good job of upconverting.

LaPuzza on
  • Gilbert0Gilbert0 North of SeattleRegistered User regular
    edited October 2009
    For assassin's creed, I'm pretty sure it's only 720p. Just check the back of the box first.

Gilbert0 on
  • RUNN1NGMANRUNN1NGMAN Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    Almost all games render below 1080p, and its just a question of whether your TV or the PS3 does the upscaling.

Same goes for the Xbox 360, by the way.

RUNN1NGMAN on
  • MovitzMovitz Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    eternalbl wrote: »