As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Huge Unemployment Claim Problem

IrohIroh Registered User regular
edited November 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I've been collecting unemployment insurance for probably two-to-three months now, and I recently received notice that my claim was being challenged. If this goes through I'm going to end up paying 4x what I received back to the state in damages which is not going to work well since I have no source of income right now. Assuming that I am completely in the wrong here (Edit: this was completely by mistake, I did not intentionally defraud the state), how the hell do I resolve this?

A short version of my story may provide some more insight:

My claim was for the four years I worked as a co-op student, receiving no credits on my transcript. I didn't think that would be a problem since there was no expressly mentioned rules about cooperative education on the claim forms when I signed up. I think there is some distinction between an internship that results in college credit and jobs that don't, but I need help deciding how I should determine that.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Iroh on

• Options
    VisionOfClarityVisionOfClarity Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    Call a lawyer.

VisionOfClarity on
  • Options
    edited November 2009
    Call a lawyer.
    I can't imagine they'd advise me on this for free.

Iroh on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • Options
    VisionOfClarityVisionOfClarity Registered User regular
    edited November 2009
    Many will give you a free consultation or opinion on whether you need representation or look into legal aid. If you're not even sure how much if any trouble you are in it's worth calling a lawyer.

VisionOfClarity on
  • Options
    SentrySentry Registered User regular