As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

LEGAL JOBS - Going back to a firm from which I was fired?

ZsetrekZsetrek Registered User regular
edited January 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
I.A.A.L. (I Am A Lawyer)

...although, at the moment I'm only doing part-time at a department store. I live in a sweet house with a couple who've become very close friends of mine. The dude is an employed lawyer, and he's very sympathetic to my situation - I pay less than a third of the rent.

Last year, whilst I was earning my qualifications, a friend recommended me for a paralegal position at his firm, which I got. I worked there from Jan to Aug.

It's a small firm by the standards of my city - one partner and two senior associates at the time I was there. The partner is a notorious douche, widely reviled and with good reason. To this day I've not been introduced, despite the fact that his office was a few paces from my desk. We excused each other when we passed in the halls, nothing more. He's very much a hands-off guy with his own key clients - although he controls the purse-strings and hiring.

The Senior Associate who was my primary supervisor is (in my opinion) one of the better solicitors in the city. That said, he was not the best teacher - more of the "I'll explain anything if you ask me, but if you don't I'll assume you know everything" school than the "let me show you how to do that" school.

The other Senior Associate was a fun guy, but a worry. He'd take me off client files to do errands for him. He was a rainmaker though, so his crap was tolerated.