As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Router Woes

UnreadableHulkUnreadableHulk Registered User regular
I just setup a NETGEAR WGR614v6 wireless router in my home and I'm having trouble maintaining my internet connection.

In roughly ten minute intervals my internet connection will go down for about 30 seconds to a minute. I get "Resolving Host" messages when browsing the internet and disconnect messages when playing online games. This affects both the PC I have hooked up and my iPhone.

My DSL connection does require a login and password, though it seems to connect just fine. I didn't have this issue before adding the router. I've updated the router firmware to the latest version. I've looked this problem up elsewhere with no luck.

UnreadableHulk on

Posts

  • Options
    RynaRyna Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    Does it effect PCs connected to the router physically? Let's eliminate issues...

    Ryna on
  • Options
    Jubal77Jubal77 Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    Netgear... theres your problem right there. I had nothing but problems with my old netgear wireless router. It worked ok if there was just a physical line or wireless going through it. I would still have to soft reset it every now and then though to get optimal performance. If I had a wired and wireless connection it would become unusable.

    I swapped to a Linksys and have near zero issues with my connections and I can have my 360 and pc in use at the same time.

    Jubal77 on
  • Options
    StormwatcherStormwatcher Blegh BlughRegistered User regular
    edited February 2010
    is it possible to connect the pc straight to the modem?

    My router kept losing the connection to the DSL modem until I flashed it with DD-WRT. Now it's 28 days connected without a single hitch.

    Stormwatcher on
    Steam: Stormwatcher | PSN: Stormwatcher33 | Switch: 5961-4777-3491
    camo_sig2.png
  • Options
    UnreadableHulkUnreadableHulk Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    Sorry, I forgot to mention that the PC is connected to the router physically. The iPhone is connecting wirelessly, so I'm having issues both ways.

    It looks like there's no DD-WRT version for this particular router.

    UnreadableHulk on
  • Options
    travathiantravathian Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    Have you removed the router and hooked the PC back directly up to the modem? Does the problem go away? Just trying to make sure it's not a coincidence and maybe there is a problem with the line or dsl modem.

    travathian on
  • Options
    UnreadableHulkUnreadableHulk Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    Yeah, when connected directly to the modem there's no issue. It's only when using the router.

    UnreadableHulk on
  • Options
    StormwatcherStormwatcher Blegh BlughRegistered User regular
    edited February 2010
    Yeah, when connected directly to the modem there's no issue. It's only when using the router.

    Well there you go.

    Stormwatcher on
    Steam: Stormwatcher | PSN: Stormwatcher33 | Switch: 5961-4777-3491
    camo_sig2.png
  • Options
    kaleeditykaleedity Sometimes science is more art than science Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    There are at least three threads on the netgear forums that are having virtually identical issues with the same router. Nothing has been resolved. Not looking good.

    kaleedity on
  • Options
    powersurgepowersurge Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    I hate to get off topic but what would you guys say is the most problem free wireless router? In the past 10 years or so I've had 3 or 4 Linksys routers die on me in one form or another. The longest lasting and problem free router I've had *knock on wood* is my current one (D-Link DGL-4300). Even had family members have issues with the supposedly uber WRT54G (think thats the model) and an uncle just had one die on him (and has been asking me for advise on a replacement).

    My DGL-4300 has been awesome *knock on wood* but its not sold anymore and the DGL-4500 seems to have major firmware problems. I just need to find him one thats stable and will go down a hallway (couple walls) to his living room. Doesn't even really need N since all his stuff (Wii, ps3, laptop) is G and his desktop would be wired. Just need rock solid signal strength for some light gaming and Netflix streaming.

    powersurge on
  • Options
    StormwatcherStormwatcher Blegh BlughRegistered User regular
    edited February 2010
    anything you can flash with ddwrt

    Stormwatcher on
    Steam: Stormwatcher | PSN: Stormwatcher33 | Switch: 5961-4777-3491
    camo_sig2.png
  • Options
    travathiantravathian Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    powersurge wrote: »
    I hate to get off topic but what would you guys say is the most problem free wireless router? In the past 10 years or so I've had 3 or 4 Linksys routers die on me in one form or another.

    Maybe the problem isn't the router . . .

    My WRT54G is 4 years old and still works fine. The one I had before that worked fine, I just replaced it to jump to G speeds. I bought my mother some clearance Netgear model at Radio Shack 3 years ago, it still works. Wireless routers are pretty simple electronic devices, but like any other electronic device they can fail on day 1, day 100, or day 1000 for no apparent reason. Just buy whatever is on sale that meets your needs and take good care of it.

    travathian on
  • Options
    UnreadableHulkUnreadableHulk Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    kaleedity wrote: »
    There are at least three threads on the netgear forums that are having virtually identical issues with the same router. Nothing has been resolved. Not looking good.

    Thanks for pointing this out. I'm looking through the Netgear forums for these threads but haven't been able to find them. Could you tell me what you searched for or link to the threads if you still have them?

    UnreadableHulk on
  • Options
    Roland_tHTGRoland_tHTG Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    I had similar problems not too long ago and a firmware update fixed it.

    Roland_tHTG on
  • Options
    VistiVisti Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    powersurge wrote: »
    I hate to get off topic but what would you guys say is the most problem free wireless router? In the past 10 years or so I've had 3 or 4 Linksys routers die on me in one form or another. The longest lasting and problem free router I've had *knock on wood* is my current one (D-Link DGL-4300). Even had family members have issues with the supposedly uber WRT54G (think thats the model) and an uncle just had one die on him (and has been asking me for advise on a replacement).

    My DGL-4300 has been awesome *knock on wood* but its not sold anymore and the DGL-4500 seems to have major firmware problems. I just need to find him one thats stable and will go down a hallway (couple walls) to his living room. Doesn't even really need N since all his stuff (Wii, ps3, laptop) is G and his desktop would be wired. Just need rock solid signal strength for some light gaming and Netflix streaming.

    Echoing precious suggestions, I would start here:

    http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=73

    Visti on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • Options
    IconoclysmIconoclysm Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    Apologies if you've tried this already, but try checking that the routers dhcp server hasnt got a low lease time, around the 10min mark or so. Also, try setting ip addresses/dns servers etc manually on client pc's if problems persist.

    Iconoclysm on
    t=54717
  • Options
    UnreadableHulkUnreadableHulk Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    Iconoclysm wrote: »
    Apologies if you've tried this already, but try checking that the routers dhcp server hasnt got a low lease time, around the 10min mark or so. Also, try setting ip addresses/dns servers etc manually on client pc's if problems persist.

    Thanks for the suggestion. There's no option in the router setup specifically for DHCP timeout, but there is one that says "Idle Timeout" and that's set to 10 minutes. I'll look into setting those addresses manually.

    It may be some kind of timeout issue though. When the interruption begins if I access the router settings page through a browser it seems to bring it back.

    UnreadableHulk on
  • Options
    IconoclysmIconoclysm Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    That idle time out looks suspiciously like it could be the trouble. Its dropping the DSL connection afterr 10 mins of no traffic

    Try upping the time out to something more reasonable or download some kind of keepalive background app that can ping every few mins to your dns local gateway address or somewhere. Forget the keepalive idea if you're billed for the amount of bandwidth used though.

    It might be worth contacting your isp to discuss the speed of your re-connection too though, as 30 seconds is a pretty long time to get connected to a dsl link.

    It's probably a case of the router attempting to connect over unsupported authentication protocols before getting it right at around the 30 sec mark.

    Iconoclysm on
    t=54717
Sign In or Register to comment.