As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Career as a government contract officer?

zktzkt Registered User regular
edited March 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
I have the opportunity to become a government contract officer, working for the department of defense closing out contracts and such. I have been taking courses online and was just wondering if anyone knows much about the field. this will be my first position and I'll start as a GS-5, making between $32k-40k. I also want to go for my Masters in Education. In the end everything boils down to what I want to do, but could anyone provide some insight into government contracting as a career and what I should expect

zkt on

• RUNN1NGMANRUNN1NGMAN Registered User regular
    edited March 2010
    I used to work as a Contracting Officer's Technical Representative, so I can tell you a little bit about what a contracting officer (or "KO" as they're called) does.