As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Approaching an organization for a photography project.

LucidLucid Registered User regular
edited March 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
So, I'm a photographer who is interested in different social issues. One of these issues that's been prominent in my mind for a while and lately is that of women in the sex trade, more specifically aboriginal women(I'm in canada). These people are some of the most invisible to society, and are taken advantage of on a persistent basis, in many instances it can be to the point of physical harm or death.

I'd like to do a portrait project with women involved in this work(people who help, and those who directly work in the sex trade). I don't want to come across as exploitative though, or insensitive. Especially seeing how I am a white male. I do feel passionate about two things in life however, photography, and helping people who are disadvantaged in various ways. I work for a refugee center where I live, and deal with people who come from sensitive backgrounds on a regular basis.

I'm wondering on methods of approaching an organization involved with this.

I'm also thinking about if this is too much of an issue to get into for someone who hasn't really done any larger projects with photography before. I have taken pictures of homeless people( I always ask and help them out if I can) in hopes of building a project over time with that. I don't mean this to be a huge project, just a little something I could do with my talent to lend a voice and communicate with people what the situation with these people is like, and who they are. I guess I'm in the very early conceptualizing stages.

Lucid on

• Options
    AldoAldo Hippo Hooray Registered User regular
    edited March 2010