As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

How difficult is learning sign language?

Bionic MonkeyBionic Monkey Registered User, ClubPA regular
edited April 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
So, after being laid off last fall, I'm finally returning to school to train for an actual career. At this point, I'm not sure if I'll even have the free time or open credits to take some voluntary electives, but if I do, I think I'd like to start learning sign language. This is something I've been contemplating for a few years, and this is basically the first opportunity I've had to do so.

The problem:
I'm fucking terrible at learning foreign languages. I took Spanish in high school, and again in college, and later took a year of german. The end result is I can count to 10 in both languages, and that's about it. I understand that sign is effectively a foreign language as well, but my perception (rightly or wrongly) is that American sign will still maintain the grammar and structure of English, so I'll be learning 1:1 on the words, and not have the same type of struggles typical in learning a new language.

I'm basically looking for people that have learned sign as an adult, and how it compared to learning other languages?

sig_megas_armed.jpg
Bionic Monkey on

• Options
    mysticjuicermysticjuicer [he/him] I'm a muscle wizard and I cast P U N C HRegistered User regular
    edited April 2010
    I understand that sign is effectively a foreign language as well, but my perception (rightly or wrongly) is that American sign will still maintain the grammar and structure of English, so I'll be learning 1:1 on the words, and not have the same type of struggles typical in learning a new language.