Options

My newest drawing!

FunnyManFunnyMan Registered User new member
edited June 2010 in Artist's Corner
So hey guys, this is my first time putting up one of my drawings on this site.
Well, it was a class assignment in my drawing class.
The objective was to draw a face, but with messed up facial features.

I put it in the spoiler because its kind of big (800x600) and I didn't want it to be out.
pictureim.jpg

Tell me what you think I can improve on!
Besides the ears... Yes I know.

"Oh shit, shake that ass ma, move it like a gypsy.
Stop, whoah, back it up, now let me see your hips
SWING!"
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
FunnyMan on

• Options
    VeromVerom Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Well I can't really comment on the structure as it's...well messed up.
    But what's buggin me is the ears and the nose on the forehead, they look very flat, almost as if tattooed onto there, maybe some harsher shadows under them instead just an outline

Verom on
  • Options
    beavotronbeavotron Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    it's obviously stylized and abstract but here's the thing
    you still need to use the basics of good picture making even when making abstract/surrealist images.

my favorite example is picasso. He was an absolutely incredible designer of images.
    His compositions were perfect, his color theory was rock solid. The average joe looks at his work and sees the giant football eyes and the wonky figures but when you study what makes an image look good and then go back and look the abstract/cubist/surrealist work, you suddenly see how absolutely ingenious it is.

the difference between your abstract work and picasso is believability.
    when i look at a picasso i believe that everything is intentional. even though it's all wonky and abstract, i know he intended it to look that way and isn't just bad at drawing.