As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Making program work in Windows 7 (Time Matters 8.0)

ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
edited June 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
So, I'm trying to get a program called Time Matters 8.0 to install into Windows 7. According to the manufacturer, it isn't Windows 7 compatible. I've tried installing it as an administrator, installing it as Windows XP (both SP 2 and 3), installing it as Windows 2000, and installing it as Windows 98.

Is there any sort of emulator or other program I can run to make Windows 7 be more XP-like? I know the program works in XP.

Every time I try to install it, all it does is make me enter in the license key, then tell me that the installation has failed; it doesn't give any sort of reason or logic to it. If anyone could help me with this, I would be eternally grateful.

Thanatos on

Posts

  • ThomamelasThomamelas Only one man can kill this many Russians. Bring his guitar to me! Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Thanatos wrote: »
    So, I'm trying to get a program called Time Matters 8.0 to install into Windows 7. According to the manufacturer, it isn't Windows 7 compatible. I've tried installing it as an administrator, installing it as Windows XP (both SP 2 and 3), installing it as Windows 2000, and installing it as Windows 98.

    Is there any sort of emulator or other program I can run to make Windows 7 be more XP-like? I know the program works in XP.

    Every time I try to install it, all it does is make me enter in the license key, then tell me that the installation has failed; it doesn't give any sort of reason or logic to it. If anyone could help me with this, I would be eternally grateful.

    Download XP mode. It's Virtual PC set up to run only as XP. Run it in the VM.

    Thomamelas on
  • SarksusSarksus ATTACK AND DETHRONE GODRegistered User regular
    edited June 2010
    If he has at least Windows 7 Professional then XP Mode would be a good option.

    Otherwise you could try running the installer in administrator and in compatibility mode simultaneously. If that doesn't work there's not much else you can do unless someone has developed a third-party unofficial workaround.

    Sarksus on
  • ThomamelasThomamelas Only one man can kill this many Russians. Bring his guitar to me! Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Sarksus wrote: »
    If he has at least Windows 7 Professional then XP Mode would be a good option.

    Otherwise you could try running the installer in administrator and in compatibility mode simultaneously. If that doesn't work there's not much else you can do unless someone has developed a third-party unofficial workaround.

    If he doesn't have pro, then he could just set up the VM software of his preference and then load XP into the VM and run it from there if the main OS needs to stay 7 for some reason.

    Thomamelas on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Sarksus wrote: »
    If he has at least Windows 7 Professional then XP Mode would be a good option.

    Otherwise you could try running the installer in administrator and in compatibility mode simultaneously. If that doesn't work there's not much else you can do unless someone has developed a third-party unofficial workaround.
    Yeah, I've run it in compatibility and administrator mode simultaneously pretty much every time. I'm trying XP Mode now (it is Windows 7 Pro 32-bit).

    Thanatos on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    So, I've gotten XP Mode installed, but in order to get this program to run, I need modify permissions on the folder it installed to. XP Mode doesn't seem to want to let me make the folder writeable. Any way around that?

    Thanatos on
  • amateurhouramateurhour One day I'll be professionalhour The woods somewhere in TennesseeRegistered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Thanatos wrote: »
    So, I've gotten XP Mode installed, but in order to get this program to run, I need modify permissions on the folder it installed to. XP Mode doesn't seem to want to let me make the folder writeable. Any way around that?

    When you log in as administrator, and go to the folder, then right click, and go to sharing and security, can you set full access for all users?

    Also, you can add full control to the group "authorized users", then add administrator, all users, and yourself to that group. I've run into that a few times on WinXp on active directory. It's a shitty workaround, but it works.

    amateurhour on
    are YOU on the beer list?
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Thanatos wrote: »
    So, I've gotten XP Mode installed, but in order to get this program to run, I need modify permissions on the folder it installed to. XP Mode doesn't seem to want to let me make the folder writeable. Any way around that?
    When you log in as administrator, and go to the folder, then right click, and go to sharing and security, can you set full access for all users?

    Also, you can add full control to the group "authorized users", then add administrator, all users, and yourself to that group. I've run into that a few times on WinXp on active directory. It's a shitty workaround, but it works.
    I can't set shit for anyone. The "permissions" window that's normally there under "security" isn't, and it's some bullshit about networking; I'm guessing XP Mode is emulating XP Home rather than XP Pro...?

    According to the Control Panel in XP Mode I am an administrator. Maybe it would do it if I ran it as administrator? I'll have to give that a try.

    Thanatos on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Tried running it in Admin mode, and it won't even boot when run in administrator mode. Goddammit.

    Thanatos on
  • amateurhouramateurhour One day I'll be professionalhour The woods somewhere in TennesseeRegistered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Sorry if I'm repeating, or if you've already done this.

    Log into Windows 7 as administrator. Go to your control panel and turn off the UAC, or UAT, or whatever it is that double checks every time you do something.

    Then, under windows 7 still, set up the security permissions on the folder with the instructions above.

    Then log into winxp mode as admin, and see if you can see the security settings now or install the program.

    Does that work?

    amateurhour on
    are YOU on the beer list?
  • ThomamelasThomamelas Only one man can kill this many Russians. Bring his guitar to me! Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Thanatos wrote: »
    Thanatos wrote: »
    So, I've gotten XP Mode installed, but in order to get this program to run, I need modify permissions on the folder it installed to. XP Mode doesn't seem to want to let me make the folder writeable. Any way around that?
    When you log in as administrator, and go to the folder, then right click, and go to sharing and security, can you set full access for all users?

    Also, you can add full control to the group "authorized users", then add administrator, all users, and yourself to that group. I've run into that a few times on WinXp on active directory. It's a shitty workaround, but it works.
    I can't set shit for anyone. The "permissions" window that's normally there under "security" isn't, and it's some bullshit about networking; I'm guessing XP Mode is emulating XP Home rather than XP Pro...?

    According to the Control Panel in XP Mode I am an administrator. Maybe it would do it if I ran it as administrator? I'll have to give that a try.

    XP Mode is XP Pro SP3. Are you installing the program within the VM, or within Windows 7?

    Thomamelas on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Thomamelas wrote: »
    Thanatos wrote: »
    Thanatos wrote: »
    So, I've gotten XP Mode installed, but in order to get this program to run, I need modify permissions on the folder it installed to. XP Mode doesn't seem to want to let me make the folder writeable. Any way around that?
    When you log in as administrator, and go to the folder, then right click, and go to sharing and security, can you set full access for all users?

    Also, you can add full control to the group "authorized users", then add administrator, all users, and yourself to that group. I've run into that a few times on WinXp on active directory. It's a shitty workaround, but it works.
    I can't set shit for anyone. The "permissions" window that's normally there under "security" isn't, and it's some bullshit about networking; I'm guessing XP Mode is emulating XP Home rather than XP Pro...?

    According to the Control Panel in XP Mode I am an administrator. Maybe it would do it if I ran it as administrator? I'll have to give that a try.

    XP Mode is XP Pro SP3. Are you installing the program within the VM, or within Windows 7?
    Within the VM; it won't install within Windows 7.

    Thanatos on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Sorry if I'm repeating, or if you've already done this.

    Log into Windows 7 as administrator. Go to your control panel and turn off the UAC, or UAT, or whatever it is that double checks every time you do something.

    Then, under windows 7 still, set up the security permissions on the folder with the instructions above.

    Then log into winxp mode as admin, and see if you can see the security settings now or install the program.

    Does that work?
    I couldn't find the folder in Windows 7, but I'll take another look, search around. I'm guessing it installed somewhere weird, since I installed it in XP Mode.

    Thanatos on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Thanatos wrote: »
    Sorry if I'm repeating, or if you've already done this.

    Log into Windows 7 as administrator. Go to your control panel and turn off the UAC, or UAT, or whatever it is that double checks every time you do something.

    Then, under windows 7 still, set up the security permissions on the folder with the instructions above.

    Then log into winxp mode as admin, and see if you can see the security settings now or install the program.

    Does that work?
    I couldn't find the folder in Windows 7, but I'll take another look, search around. I'm guessing it installed somewhere weird, since I installed it in XP Mode.
    Yeah, I can't even find it when logged in as an admin. I'm guessing XP mode creates some sort of virtual drive that doesn't show up on Windows 7 searches. It may not even have a traditional permissions structure.

    Ideas?

    Thanatos on
  • ThomamelasThomamelas Only one man can kill this many Russians. Bring his guitar to me! Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Thanatos wrote: »
    Thanatos wrote: »
    Sorry if I'm repeating, or if you've already done this.

    Log into Windows 7 as administrator. Go to your control panel and turn off the UAC, or UAT, or whatever it is that double checks every time you do something.

    Then, under windows 7 still, set up the security permissions on the folder with the instructions above.

    Then log into winxp mode as admin, and see if you can see the security settings now or install the program.

    Does that work?
    I couldn't find the folder in Windows 7, but I'll take another look, search around. I'm guessing it installed somewhere weird, since I installed it in XP Mode.
    Yeah, I can't even find it when logged in as an admin. I'm guessing XP mode creates some sort of virtual drive that doesn't show up on Windows 7 searches. It may not even have a traditional permissions structure.

    Ideas?

    It is a virtual drive. XP Mode is a variation of Virtual PC with some RDP stuff in it.

    Thomamelas on
  • ashridahashridah Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    If a permissions tab isn't showing up, that sounds a lot like the VM is using FAT32 for the filesystem of the XP VM instead of NTFS. (I haven't got XP mode handy, so i can't double-check)
    You can't just write stuff to this directory normally as your own user when you're inside XP mode? Are you actually getting permission denied?

    ashridah on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Goddamn, this is within my fucking grasp, so close, just need this one little thing. Fuck.

    Thanatos on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    ashridah wrote: »
    If a permissions tab isn't showing up, that sounds a lot like the VM is using FAT32 for the filesystem of the XP VM instead of NTFS. (I haven't got XP mode handy, so i can't double-check)
    You can't just write stuff to this directory normally as your own user when you're inside XP mode? Are you actually getting permission denied?
    No, I'm getting "cannot access folder." Which is (I think) what happens with this software when you don't have write permissions to the folder in question. Let me fuck around some more.

    Thanatos on
  • ashridahashridah Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Thanatos wrote: »
    ashridah wrote: »
    If a permissions tab isn't showing up, that sounds a lot like the VM is using FAT32 for the filesystem of the XP VM instead of NTFS. (I haven't got XP mode handy, so i can't double-check)
    You can't just write stuff to this directory normally as your own user when you're inside XP mode? Are you actually getting permission denied?
    No, I'm getting "cannot access folder." Which is (I think) what happens with this software when you don't have write permissions to the folder in question. Let me fuck around some more.

    Right. Can you manually make files/folders in that directory under XP mode, however? I'll install it here (xp mode) and see if i can get anything out of it. might take me a few to finish the download though.

    In the meantime, this thread seems to mention some stuff that might work for getting the access you need: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itprovirt/thread/fd336ac5-bee3-435b-9a8a-005d8104ca60

    ashridah on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Okay, so I was wrong about what the problem was.

    Anyone know how I map a network drive in XP Mode?

    Thanatos on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Hold on, may not matter...

    Thanatos on
  • ashridahashridah Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Okay, so a bit of poking at XP Mode on my end shows that the XPMUser user on the system is definitely an administrator, but you're right, the Security tab for folders is missing by default.

    That said, there's a simple way to fix it.

    Start Explorer, go to the tools -> Folder Options menu
    Select the View tab
    Scroll down the list of Advanced Settings
    Find the one that reads "Use simple file sharing (Recommended)" and turn it off
    apply the settings.
    then when you look at folder properties, you should have a "Security" tab, which you can tweak.
    (although i'm surprised it matters, since your user is an administrator by default, at least, it is here, but perhaps the permissions are wonky for Time Matters 8.0 as it sets itself up during install)

    (I assume an upgrade to V10 of TM isn't possible here? :)

    ashridah on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    ashridah wrote: »
    Okay, so a bit of poking at XP Mode on my end shows that the XPMUser user on the system is definitely an administrator, but you're right, the Security tab for folders is missing by default.

    That said, there's a simple way to fix it.

    Start Explorer, go to the tools -> Folder Options menu
    Select the View tab
    Scroll down the list of Advanced Settings
    Find the one that reads "Use simple file sharing (Recommended)" and turn it off
    apply the settings.
    then when you look at folder properties, you should have a "Security" tab, which you can tweak.
    (although i'm surprised it matters, since your user is an administrator by default, at least, it is here, but perhaps the permissions are wonky for Time Matters 8.0 as it sets itself up during install)

    (I assume an upgrade to V10 of TM isn't possible here? :)
    If upgrading were possible, I wouldn't be bothering.

    Had to send the laptop home with the user for the weekend, but I'll come back to this on Monday. I'm almost there. So close I can feel it, and I'll feel so much better once it's up. Thanks for the help, all!

    Thanatos on
  • AvicusAvicus Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    I hate Windows 7 users system. Even if you are an 'admin' you still don't get all admin privileges. You have to go into the users section, go into the options and enable the admin (like the master administrator account). Then you have to disable something in there that someone was talking about earlier. Whenever I tried to run things in 'admin mode' they wouldn't work but now I just log into the admin account and they work perfectly... Stupid Windows.

    Avicus on
    stephen_coop.gifkim_coop.gifscott_guitar.gif
  • ashridahashridah Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Avicus wrote: »
    I hate Windows 7 users system. Even if you are an 'admin' you still don't get all admin privileges. You have to go into the users section, go into the options and enable the admin (like the master administrator account). Then you have to disable something in there that someone was talking about earlier. Whenever I tried to run things in 'admin mode' they wouldn't work but now I just log into the admin account and they work perfectly... Stupid Windows.

    Uh. the administrative token you gain when you elevate is essentially identical to the one you have when you're logged in with an administrator account. If you're going to go to the trouble of doing what you're doing, you may as well just turn off UAC and use your own account.

    Not trying to derail a thread or anything, but what, specifically, isn't working for you? What app, and what happens when you run it elevated under an account within the admin group with UAC enabled?

    Note that there are definitely some apps that just assume completely irrational things. There are apps that have shims in place written by the windows app compat team that redirect file writes to user directories. The windows team prefer not to do this though, as it's more or less only a crutch. Absolute essentials only.

    That said, except for older shrinkwrap software (like what Thanatos is dealing with, where he can't just get a working version without forking over cash), there's usually updated software, or something similar by another vendor that works perfectly fine.

    After all, the model we're talking about came into existence with *vista*. Win7 streamlined a lot of things, and added performance, stability, and some newer stuff (revved video driver model, etc), but the core security components have existed for several years now. New stuff just has no excuse for not working, save for incompetence on the developer's part or simply being old and not updated.

    The stuff I generally run into that fits into this category are XP era games. And I'm yet to run into one that doesn't start working the second you run it with elevated privileges. Even on x64 systems as wow64 processes.

    ashridah on
  • ThomamelasThomamelas Only one man can kill this many Russians. Bring his guitar to me! Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Ah, I see your problem. Simple file sharing is on. Turn it off.

    Thomamelas on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Okay, got it totally working in XP Mode, now! Thanks a ton, guys!

    One more question: according to the XP Mode documentation, there's a way to get things to run in a "seamless mode" where they appear to be running in Windows 7, while actually running in XP Mode. Any fucking clue how to get it to do that? It's probably something stunningly obvious that I just can't figure out, but my Google-fu is failing as well (lots of articles talking about using it, none talking about how to actually set it up so it works). Any help?

    Thanatos on
  • ThomamelasThomamelas Only one man can kill this many Russians. Bring his guitar to me! Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Thanatos wrote: »
    Okay, got it totally working in XP Mode, now! Thanks a ton, guys!

    One more question: according to the XP Mode documentation, there's a way to get things to run in a "seamless mode" where they appear to be running in Windows 7, while actually running in XP Mode. Any fucking clue how to get it to do that? It's probably something stunningly obvious that I just can't figure out, but my Google-fu is failing as well (lots of articles talking about using it, none talking about how to actually set it up so it works). Any help?

    http://ts2community.com/blogs/sdeming/archive/2009/11/06/seamless-execution-under-windows-xp-mode.aspx

    Thomamelas on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    Awesome, works perfectly.

    If you're ever in Seattle, Thom, I owe you a beer. Also, probably some totally heterosexual making out. Thanks a ton!

    Thanatos on
This discussion has been closed.