As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[Dev On] Open Up Shop

kedinikkedinik Captain of IndustryRegistered User regular
edited January 2007 in Games and Technology
I'm an undergraduate student with aspirations in game design, so next year I'm founding a game development organization on campus. The group will focus on learning how to design and develop games together.

Now, given that I have no experience in actually making games, and that likely no one else in the group will either, each individual will have to spend much of the year learning new technologies.

I'm familiar with the process of game design: create a design document that details every aspect of the game, create an artistic direction with a team of artists, code the game, and revise as necessary throughout development. That's all well and good as theory, but it is clear to me that I lack the knowledge needed to get started.

What would be a free and newb-friendly engine to use? How can the programmers learn the nuances of coding for games, what's a good program for 3d modelling, how can the designers get some practice in designing balanced systems? I must become familiar enough with the answers to all of these questions to guide an inexperienced team through the development process within 6 months, and any advice or thoughts would be appreciated.

I made a game! Hotline Maui. Requires mouse and keyboard.
kedinik on

• krapst78krapst78 Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    You'll want to definitely start small. Think in terms of making something like tetris or even simpler. If you can't get the team to make something as simple as tetris, then you'll have a hell of time creating a bigger project.

krapst78 on
    Hello! My name is Inigo Montoya! You killed my father prepare to die!