As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Windows Vista and Macs

ubernekouberneko Registered User regular
Note: I asked Moe if it was okay to make this thread but I REALLY need to do this, so I have gone ahead and made it without his reply. Hope I am not breaking any rules here.

I have a desktop computer with Windows Vista 64 bit Home Premium on it. It died. For some reason Bad Company 2 crashed while I was playing it and the whole computer became unresponsive and BSOD'd, then rebooted. Of course, since it rebooted instead of just closing BC2 or whatever, it trashed my boot files. My boot files became corrupt, I tried finding ways to fix them, nothing worked, and now the computer will not boot whatsoever.

I need to use Windows Vista. I have a Macbook that is capable of running it.

My issue, however, is that Vista came pre-loaded on the desktop and I can't find the place to have Cyberpower send me a recovery disk. In any case, I need to use Vista NOW.

I got a .iso file. I figure this is legal because I have a legitimate CD key on the side of my desktop computer's case. Of course, since the gods are against me, I don't have any DVDs. I also don't have my Mac OS X disk because I just moved to Portland, but it is getting sent to me. I really need to use Vista right this moment though.

So here's my question:

If I install Windows Vista on my Mac by using Parallels, as opposed to using Boot Camp (because I ONLY have the .iso file), will I be able to use Vista through Boot Camp after it is installed via Parallels? I am asking because after reading up on how to install Vista with Parallels it says you have to dedicate some of your RAM to using Vista. My Mac only has 2 gigs of RAM, so I'd have to dedicate at least half of that to using Vista. I really want to use all 2 gigs of RAM.

Sorry if this is long winded. This whole situation has me stressed out because the computer was perfectly fine until out of nowhere it crashed while I was playing BC2, and it frustrates me beyond all belief that the game crashed, then the computer crashed, which effectively fucked the entire computer up.

uberneko on

Posts

  • AzioAzio Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    The windows license that came with your old PC cannot legally be used on any other computer. You'll have to buy a retail copy if you want to stay legal.

    If you want to play games on it you will have to install and run it with Boot Camp. Also you'll need your OSX disc because it has all the Macbook drivers on it

    Azio on
  • ubernekouberneko Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    As far as I knew it was legal to install Vista on up to 3 different computers. How can I get a legal version of Vista without paying money for it that I don't have? I bought a PC, I HAD Vista, I just don't physically have the CD. I DO have the CD-key though.

    Is there any way Cyberpower can send me a recovery disk? I just moved 1500 miles away from my home and I don't have the money to buy a brand new copy of Vista when I have a perfectly good CD-key from a legally owned copy.

    uberneko on
  • baudattitudebaudattitude Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    uberneko wrote: »
    Note
    So here's my question:

    If I install Windows Vista on my Mac by using Parallels, as opposed to using Boot Camp (because I ONLY have the .iso file), will I be able to use Vista through Boot Camp after it is installed via Parallels?

    Short answer: No.

    Long answer: This works if you do it the other way, as Parallels can run using a boot camp partition, but Boot Camp can't run using a Parallels virtual disk image.

    Source: This is from this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=299030 which might be a starting point for further research.

    baudattitude on
  • AzioAzio Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    uberneko wrote: »
    As far as I knew it was legal to install Vista on up to 3 different computers.
    Does that count for OEM licenses as well? I don't know. What I do know is if it's a custom OEM restore disc it won't work on Macbook. If you can get your hands on a retail DVD, you can activate it using your OEM product key.
    How can I get a legal version of Vista without paying money for it that I don't have? I bought a PC, I HAD Vista, I just don't physically have the CD. I DO have the CD-key though.
    There's a few ways. You could burn the ISO you have, and it should work as long as it's just a virgin copy of windows with no OEM restore bullshit. If you are going to school, you may be able to get a free copy through the MSDN Academic Alliance. Go to the computer lab and ask the TA.
    Is there any way Cyberpower can send me a recovery disk?
    I don't know, you should probably call them

    Azio on
  • blackranger3dblackranger3d Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    Why do you have to use Vista specifically?

    blackranger3d on
    BOOM SHACK A LAKA
  • ubernekouberneko Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    Why do you have to use Vista specifically?

    I have a Macbook ONLY for recording music (I'm an audio production major) so the only program I have on it, besides VERY basic programs like using Chrome instead of Safari, is Logic Studio 9. I have it this way so that I can fully utilize my hard drive space for many, many .wav files that can be up to or more than 1 GB in size, and so I can fully utilize the RAM I have in this computer. I would have gotten a Macbook Pro for this, but I did the best I could with the money I had, and so far it's working just fine. I used my desktop for everything else.

    And thanks for the help guys. I'll try getting through to Cyberpower about getting a disk, but I am weary about calling a tech support line to be honest.

    uberneko on
  • ronyaronya Arrrrrf. the ivory tower's basementRegistered User regular
    edited August 2010
    On a tangent, if you have a 4+ gb USB stick (or mp3 player or phone, or other device that can act as a USB storage device), you could pop Vista onto it and boot off that to repair your desktop.

    Or, if not, to shrink the existing NTFS partition (presuming the partition table isn't fucked) and then install a second Vista partition on your desktop.

    (if your partition table is fucked, grab TestDisk and un-fuck it. Then install a second Vista system to a separate partition.)

    ronya on
    aRkpc.gif
  • AzioAzio Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    ronya wrote: »
    On a tangent, if you have a 4+ gb USB stick (or mp3 player or phone, or other device that can act as a USB storage device), you could pop Vista onto it and boot off that to repair your desktop.
    I have not been able to do this on my Macbook Pro.

    Azio on
  • ronyaronya Arrrrrf. the ivory tower's basementRegistered User regular
    edited August 2010
    What, making the bootable stick, or booting Vista from a USB stick on a Macbook Pro?

    ronya on
    aRkpc.gif
  • ubernekouberneko Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    ronya wrote: »
    On a tangent, if you have a 4+ gb USB stick (or mp3 player or phone, or other device that can act as a USB storage device), you could pop Vista onto it and boot off that to repair your desktop.

    Or, if not, to shrink the existing NTFS partition (presuming the partition table isn't fucked) and then install a second Vista partition on your desktop.

    (if your partition table is fucked, grab TestDisk and un-fuck it. Then install a second Vista system to a separate partition.)

    Hmm, I DO have a 4GB memory stick somewhere here with me. I could put Vista onto that and then boot from it on my desktop computer? How do I go about doing that?

    uberneko on
  • ronyaronya Arrrrrf. the ivory tower's basementRegistered User regular
    edited August 2010
    Creating the USB stick on OSX: combine this with something like this. Basically, format your USB stick using Disk Utility, pop the Vista disc into your Macbook, then unmount both your USB stick and your disk drive.

    Then run
    dd if=/dev/dvd of=/dev/diskusbwhatever
    
    as appropriate.

    Then put your USB stick in your desktop and boot from it. You may have to go to your BIOS setup and switch the boot order around a bit (this varies from computer to computer).

    After it boots, you should see the Install Windows menu; don't reinstall Windows just yet. Pick the Repair options and see whether it can automatically resurrect your boot file (like this). If it can't, then you need to whether your partition table got fried (one trick is to click Load Drivers near the beginning and see what drives it can see in My Computer! If not, use command prompt's diskpart).

    What you do at this point depends on what you really want to achieve here - retrieve user data from your desktop, then nuke it and reinstall Vista (boot a linux distro of your choice, then mount your Vista partition and start moving files off to another partition or off to your Macbook or off to an external drive)? Or try to repair the Vista install (you'll need to tel us what's wrong)? Or install a new Vista system and postpone the repair process to a later date (shrink the current non-functional Vista partition using diskpart or a linux distro of your choice, then pop the Vista disk in and pick an advanced install)? etc.

    One especially relevant consideration is how much free space you vaguely remember having on the desktop; if you had a mostly-empty disk then you can go with the last option and forget about the whole issue for the next year.

    ronya on
    aRkpc.gif
  • DHS OdiumDHS Odium Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    Don't forget you can install a legit version of Vista (assuming the copy you obtained is direct from a disc with no meddling) and use it without restrictions for 30 days. That should give you enough time to sort things out without having to worry about licenses or getting a key.

    Also, if you don't already own Parallels there's a free option in VirtualBox, I highly recommend it. If you wanted to go the Boot Camp route to get better performance, since you own a license of OS X, you could get a retail iso the same way you got the Vista disc so you can use it to get drivers after the boot camp install.

    Edit: While you're at all this burning of isos, grab Ubuntu so you can get any files off your desktop before you scrap, or try to reformat it.

    DHS Odium on
    Wii U: DHS-Odium // Live: DHS Odium // PSN: DHSOdium // Steam: dhsykes // 3DS: 0318-6615-5294
  • ubernekouberneko Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    ronya wrote: »
    Creating the USB stick on OSX: combine this with something like this. Basically, format your USB stick using Disk Utility, pop the Vista disc into your Macbook, then unmount both your USB stick and your disk drive.

    Then run
    dd if=/dev/dvd of=/dev/diskusbwhatever
    
    as appropriate.

    Then put your USB stick in your desktop and boot from it. You may have to go to your BIOS setup and switch the boot order around a bit (this varies from computer to computer).

    After it boots, you should see the Install Windows menu; don't reinstall Windows just yet. Pick the Repair options and see whether it can automatically resurrect your boot file (like this). If it can't, then you need to whether your partition table got fried (one trick is to click Load Drivers near the beginning and see what drives it can see in My Computer! If not, use command prompt's diskpart).

    What you do at this point depends on what you really want to achieve here - retrieve user data from your desktop, then nuke it and reinstall Vista (boot a linux distro of your choice, then mount your Vista partition and start moving files off to another partition or off to your Macbook or off to an external drive)? Or try to repair the Vista install (you'll need to tel us what's wrong)? Or install a new Vista system and postpone the repair process to a later date (shrink the current non-functional Vista partition using diskpart or a linux distro of your choice, then pop the Vista disk in and pick an advanced install)? etc.

    One especially relevant consideration is how much free space you vaguely remember having on the desktop; if you had a mostly-empty disk then you can go with the last option and forget about the whole issue for the next year.

    Awesome! I'll definitely give this a try as soon as I can, thanks a lot!!

    uberneko on
  • AzadIsCoolAzadIsCool Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    I just want to clear this up. It is illegal to do what you're doing. OEM means it is tied to your motherboard, and therefore only allows one install (I know that Cyberpower uses OEM). I don't think anyone will be too angry considering the circumstances, but I just wanted to make sure that was clear.

    Also good luck with CyberPowerPC's support. They are notoriously horrid at responding.

    AzadIsCool on
    leftaq.jpgcenterv.jpgrightz.jpg
  • ronyaronya Arrrrrf. the ivory tower's basementRegistered User regular
    edited August 2010
    He's already lost his previous install, I suppose, so his machine now has no Vista installs? So maybe he can legally create another one?

    But IANAL, so yeah. If in doubt, just use a Linux distro to get everything out first before nuking.

    ronya on
    aRkpc.gif
  • DHS OdiumDHS Odium Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    AzadIsCool wrote: »
    I just want to clear this up. It is illegal to do what you're doing. OEM means it is tied to your motherboard, and therefore only allows one install (I know that Cyberpower uses OEM). I don't think anyone will be too angry considering the circumstances, but I just wanted to make sure that was clear.

    Also good luck with CyberPowerPC's support. They are notoriously horrid at responding.

    It's not illegal if he just installs Vista and uses the 30 day trial period - like it's been mentioned before there's about a 99% chance he won't be able to use whatever key he was using on his OEM install and having that activate. Still, just installing the trial gives him the software he needs and the time to sort things out.

    DHS Odium on
    Wii U: DHS-Odium // Live: DHS Odium // PSN: DHSOdium // Steam: dhsykes // 3DS: 0318-6615-5294
  • ubernekouberneko Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    So in the long term of using Vista, I have to completely buy a new version of Vista in order to use it? My CD-key will not work with another copy? I guess I can check to see if my school will give me a discount. Pretty fucked though. Would I be better off buying Windows 7?

    uberneko on
  • ronyaronya Arrrrrf. the ivory tower's basementRegistered User regular
    edited August 2010
    Windows 7 beats Vista in general, but your CD key should legally work if you destroy your previous Vista install, and should technically work if it is Vista Home Premium, and possibly if you can track down your Original Equipment Manufacturer licensing digital certificate (it should be a small *.xrm-ms file somewhere on the hard drive and recovery disc) as well.

    Basically: did CyberPower sell you a manufacturer mass-installed Vista, or a separate license to install and use Vista? Manufacturer packaged Windows are activated using digital certificates and the same key across thousands of computers; individually licensed Windows have separate keys. In the former, without the digital certificate you'll out of luck.

    ronya on
    aRkpc.gif
  • DHS OdiumDHS Odium Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    If you want to do everything the free (and legal) way, since you go to school I assume you have a school email address. The non-free but still great way is to jump on the $30 Windows 7 deal for students. The completely free and almost identical path is to go the Microsoft's DreamSpark website, and use your .edu address to register and download Windows Server 2008 R2 (make sure it's the R2 one, the regular 2008 is Vista Server). It's the server version of Windows 7. Go to the store and buy a few blank DVDs, burn it and install through Boot Camp.

    Then google how to turn 2008 R2 into a workstation (there's a site dedicated to this), and when all that work is done you'll have an install with the same visual effects, security, and UI as Window's 7 (remember I said it's pretty much the same thing). The only noteworthy difference besides the initial work (which isn't much) is you have to be more selective with which anti-virus software you install (MSE won't work, niether will some other free ones - Avast or Avira might).

    DHS Odium on
    Wii U: DHS-Odium // Live: DHS Odium // PSN: DHSOdium // Steam: dhsykes // 3DS: 0318-6615-5294
  • DeathPrawnDeathPrawn Registered User regular
    edited August 2010
    uberneko wrote: »
    So in the long term of using Vista, I have to completely buy a new version of Vista in order to use it? My CD-key will not work with another copy? I guess I can check to see if my school will give me a discount. Pretty fucked though. Would I be better off buying Windows 7?

    There's a good chance you can get a copy of Windows 7 for the $30 student price. If that's the case, the improvements of Windows 7 over Vista on top of all the complications with your Vista setup make it sound like it would be well worth your while to investigate.

    DeathPrawn on
    Signature not found.
Sign In or Register to comment.