As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Hacking followed by Slashing: We need More!

GrudgematchGrudgematch Registered User regular
edited November 2010 in Games and Technology
Hack and Slashers! New and Old gather round!

I got to thinking the other day what are some of the most enjoyable moments of gaming that I have had?

Then the revelation dawned upon me that some of the most fun I have ever had with gaming was repeatedly tapping buttons to receive sweet lewts! That's right Hack and Slash the most satisfying type of monotony!

So I started thinking about the best hack and slashers I have played, and came up with the most memorable for me. I've been gaming for around 15 years, with me being 20 at the moment and have played a lot of hack and slashers but for me a certain series always sticks in mind and that was the consoles version of Baldur's gate, namely Dark Alliance and its sequel. Now I know I will probably be beaten to death for making this claim but hear me out.

For some reason this series of game just sticks in my mind, it just had these level of depth that would draw me right into the game and fully immerse me in that world. I think one of the main reasons I enjoyed it so much was because of its inclusion of co-op, crawling through the vast and detailed dungeons with a friends just added a whole new dimension of awesomeness, this was at a point where I had limited or no access to online PC games, due to being young and not being able to afford hardware upgrades for my PC so I was like 1000000 years behind everyone else in that respect.

But anyway for me it was just the epitome of cool at the time and this series robbed a lot of hours of life from me and my friends but it was one hell of a game in my own opinion.