As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Social Anxiety?

suicidexcusesuicidexcuse Registered User regular
edited January 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
I don't know what to do about this. I think I have some form of social anxiety or social phobia.

I'm finishing up my third year of university and today I was late to class by like 5 minutes and instead of going in, I just walked by. I am now waiting for my next class to start which isn't for another 2 hours. I've been doing this for 3 years and haven't told anyone, not even my wife. I never talked to people at my old work and because of that, according to my wife, they thought I was stuck up. Even at family gatherings, with immediate family only, I have trouble speaking up. My voice will even shake a little when talking to my 4 siblings. I'm great at one on one talking. I can make friends with someone as long as its just the two of us but add one more person and it's a disaster.

I've always been this way and I hate it. I don't even know why it happens. I feel like people are judging me, even though I know they aren't. Even on the first day of class when we have to introduce each other to the class, my heart starts pounding like crazy. If it's a presentation and I've had time to prepare it, I sound confident and don't get all that nervous.

As for the usual advice of exercise, I have been doing that 3 times a week for the last 6 months. And it has helped me to feel better about myself but overall I feel like nothings changed. As for counselling, I doubt we could pay for it but any advice as to where to turn would be appreciated. In Calgary, Canada by the way. I'm going back to work in April and graduating in a year and I want to fix this. So any advice would be welcome and thank you in advance.

suicidexcuse on

• Options