As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

want a tablet/net-vertible

mrmrmrmr nameless protagonistRegistered User regular
edited February 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
Let's see what kinda info any of you guys have on this.

I am looking for a tablet-pc/netvertible. A netvertible, if you don't know, is a netbook where the screen can rotate/flip and become a touch-screen tablet-like appliance. My main reasons are for portability purposes. I am a college student, so I get more than a bit of online reading to do. Something like this would help so I don't have to sit at my computer and read or print an asston of paper (or pay for it if I'm on campus). I just cannot read long lengths sitting on my computer chair. I want to take something with me and sit down in a comfy chair, lie on a couch, etc, especially if I cannot find a computer to use on campus. Other big uses are similar, in that I also have an ever-growing digital comic collection. I want something that can read all these comics (in .cbr format, a program like ComicRack preferably) on the go. Being able to flip the screen into a handheld comic viewer is especially attractive to me. Other uses I'd have include homework, note taking, and other related things.

Other specifics that I'm looking for:
-Fast. Not expecting a speed demon, but something that won't take forever to load up or turn on the interwebs.
-Windows. I just like something familiar. No iPads, thanks.
-Good touchscreen tech.
-Large screen. Looking at 10-ish inches, for better document viewing.
-Price? I dunno. I don't mind paying a bit if it's sure to be what I want. Over $600 would be stretching it tho.

Can't think of anything else atm.