As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Really need life advice

zktzkt Registered User regular
edited February 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
I graduated with my 4 year degree two years ago and finally got my first job a few months ago. Im doing really boring repetitive dataentry work and cant stand it, especially since it wasn't the job I applied to (long story short I was offered a position this time last year at this organization that would start later that year and required training. when the time came they weren't able to hire me and offered me this job instead so i took it). Im still being told the original job will start hiring more in a few weeks but Im not sure I even want it. My current job or the original job have nothing to do with my degree or what I'd like to do for a living. My major was computer networking and I really didn't like it (another long story short, i started in HS, finished early and much less tuition) so would like to get my masters in another field, but would first like the experience of living on my own. My current job pays too low to afford to live anywhere decent on my own. Also because of my disability i can't drive which has impacted my jobsearch, as well as where I could relocate to (i need reliable public transit). I have a thousand and a half saved up so could relocate (and would love to).

zkt on

• FirstComradeStalinFirstComradeStalin Registered User regular
    edited February 2011
    So your primary issue is still having to live at home?

Where do you live now? Reliable public transit is scarce but existent (in the US I'm assuming), you'd probably have to move to New York or Chicago or something.

Establish a list of cities that you would feel comfortable living in, hunt through job listings in those areas, and apply, apply, apply.