As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Martial Arts

VisserianVisserian Registered User regular
edited May 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
Hello all,

I've been wanting to take up a martial art since I was a kid. Now that I'm an adult and on my own with free time, and out of college I've decided to try to finally accomplish that goal. However I know next to nothing about the different types that are out there. I'm wondering if someone can give me some idea of which I should look at? My primary goals are getting in shape and self-defense, in that order of importance. I use to be in good shape about 5 years ago, but college decided to add about 40 lbs before I graduated, not sure if that is important or relevant but I'm putting that out there in case it is. Also how can I tell the difference from a good place to learn from a bad one? Anything anyone can tell me or any resources I could be pointed at would be immensely welcome.

Visserian on

• Options
    darklite_xdarklite_x I'm not an r-tard... Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    I'm going to recommend either Brazilian Ju Jitsu or Krav Maga.

darklite_x on
    Steam ID: darklite_x Xbox Gamertag: Darklite 37 PSN:Rage_Kage_37 Battle.Net:darklite#2197
  • Options
    FantasmaFantasma Registered User regular
    edited May 2011
    Karate is pretty standard and put effort in giving you strength.

Fantasma on
    Hear my warnings, unbelievers. We have raised altars in this land so that we may sacrifice you to our gods. There is no hope in opposing the inevitable. Put down your arms, unbelievers, and bow before the forces of Chaos!
  • Options
    DirtyDirtyVagrantDirtyDirtyVagrant Registered User regular
    edited May 2011