As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Cure for the lonely heart?

<3<3 Registered User regular
edited August 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
This is more of a rant than anything, but lately I've been feeling pretty down and lonely. I don't particularly think I'm depressed, but I'm no doctor. My life is actually pretty great and I'm happy. I go to a very prestigious graduate school, and I'm currently doing an awesome internship in the Bay Area and I'm having a blast. Overall, in terms of my career, everything is looking bright.

However, lately, I can't seem to shake that feeling that I'm all alone and by myself. I keep myself occupied with various activities and social circles. I've been trying to workout a couple of times a week, and I play ultimate and rock climb weekly. So there's plenty of human interactions.

I've been somewhat developing a mushy feeling for a friend who's currently in a relationship, so that probably does't help. And there has been a huge influx of engagements and marriages on Facebook lately. It seems like everyone my age is in committed relationships (I'm 23). I've really only been in one relationship in my life, and it didn't last very long, and that was about three years ago. So I guess I feel slightly unwanted. I think I am craving some sort of intimacy. However, I despise the idea of being dependent on a woman to be happy, and I definitely do not want to settle down anytime soon.

Am I just going through a quarter-life crisis?

<3 on

• Options
    EshEsh Tending bar. FFXIV. Motorcycles. Portland, ORRegistered User regular
    edited August 2011
    http://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/140487/internet-dating-it-built-character.-but-only-after-you-get-them-dates#Item_2717